We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath tub with jacuzzi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Bath tub with jacuzzi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is strategically located at the famous Gurney Drive in Penang. The hotel staff from the reception, concierge, waiter/waitress and even the maintenace crew are friendly and helpful. The room is clean and spacious. The food for breakfast also nice and varieties. The best part is, there is bath tub with jacuzzi in every room. There is swimming pool facilities at this hotel as well. The down part about this hotel is that the room equipment and the interior is a bit old and need some upgrading and refurbishment. In short, we had a good stay at this hotel. Other places near to this hotel are Gurney Plaza where you can buy electric appliances etc, Gurney hawkers where you can enjoy local food like 'pasembor', some seafood restaurant and clubs to hang around.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    119
    105
    49
    53
See reviews for
148
49
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Those who have stayed in this hotel before would know that now it has paled very much in comparison to its heyday reputation. I have stayed here a number of times over the last ten years & I find that the rooms have not been well maintained and are quite run down. As observed, even the attitude and lack of enthusiasm of the reception and housekeeping staff leaves much to be desired too. It is obvious that this previously fabulous hotel is in dire need of refurbishment in order to stay in competition along Gurney Drive or even Penang Island as a whole. On a brighter note however, the hotel still offers reasonable pricing and a fantastic location for sightseers and food lovers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived Gurney Hotel at about 11.45am and very kindly the Reception found me a room, unfortunately on the 29th Floor (smoking floor), I then requested to move and was given 34th Floor. Very comfortable spacious room for the two of us. We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday in Penang.
I must say "THUMBS UP" for the services rendered by all of the Conceirges from whom I sought assistance throughout my stay.
Generally, great hotel. May return again.
Just walk down the road and you find almost all of the best Penang food.

Room Tip: I was told choose the upper floors and I did just that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is located along Gurney Drive, a posh place but at an affordable price. I stayed in the studio suite and the rooms is huge! Nice view from the room. Overall, everything is ok, except for they serve similar breakfasts every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very Very Spacious rooms at affordable prices. The place is abit run down but the spaciousness of the room more than makes up for it. Cheap 24hours food options within walking distance.

Not a bad room to stay in if your on a long business trip

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice big hotel with seaview We stay on the 24th floor.Nothing much to say but the elevator is a bit slow.Very nice Reception Counter staff and the bell/conceirge staff.Plenty of restaurant nearbt with a bit of exercise but worth it.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if possible..nice view of the Straits of Malacca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Impressed with the facilities. When I complained about the safe in the room, they came with 3 officers to review it and asked me to sign a form on the works done. I feel this is a very good procedure and transparent as they have other officers who act as witness. The hotel has good views, location and offer good breakfast. It has everything you need. However, this hotel can be packed during school holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.