We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price within the City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malaysia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Malaysia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Price within the City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do agree that this hotel has seen it better days thru out the years but with the attractive price & within the city it should still be acceptable.
Room is spacious and clean sheets. Bath area is clean .

Location is good with F & B around the area with plenty of human traffics the moments you step out from door

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    25
    15
    16
See reviews for
16
24
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we are two couples and stayed only for 1 night. our room was booked with double bedroom and breakfast. this hotel is very impressive. nice welcome and gave good service. the room was good on 8th floor with nice view and big window. we were very impressed with the breakfast, which has lot of option to eat anything. the location was also good. I know the cemetery was there (just 5-7 minutes walk) but doesn't matter.
it was good experience.

Room Tip: get room on higher floor (7th or 8th floor and above), which have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Malaysia for two nights and I was unimpressed. The front desk staff are not very helpful, and when asked questions they tended to mumble their answers. I had booked a room with a double bed, and was given a room with two single beds Breakfast was also disappointing, oily eggs, stale bread, and no real cereal selection. Their expedia listing says they have cable TV, but they do not. They have 15 channels, of which 2 are in English. There is only one electrical outlet in the room.

The hotel said they were renovating, and said there could be some noise between 9am and 6pm because of it, but I only heard noise between 10pm and 1am, although I am not certain of the source.

The shower was powerful, but no toiletries were provided.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

On my way to Thailand holiday, I stop here. I thought staying only two nights, we will not need anything special. But this below that as well. Very dingy and dirty. The beds have bugs that kept us up all night. I am sure, this place must have been fancy back in the day. But now it is in need of a big improvement. Until then, if I go Penang again, i look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was my umpteenth time staying in this hotel for more than a decade, it used to be my top choice for accommodation when I visited the island, but sadly my most recent stay is a far cry from what it was many years ago. My room is not very clean and one of the light fixtures is not working. The only redeeming factor for this hotel would be the location which is a stone's throw away from the nightlife area and some awesome food. But it seems to be doing some renovation works and hopefully will soon be better and regain it's reputation of its heydays.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Guys,

I was there with my family (wife and 4 years old daughter) on 1st March 2014. We had a very bad experience. It's a very old hotel and they have bed bugs!!! I killed 2 of them and we have to on the light the whole night in order to protect ourselves (especially our daughter) from the bugs. We had a sleepless night due to this. No refund was given and the Management said they couldnt find any of the bedbugs (the blanket had my blood stain). It is also situated in a very noisy area (through out the night) so you have to close the windows all the time during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

we were brought to this place by a cabbie who had brought us from the border;
it was expensive, especially considering how worn and barely clean our room was.
the fixtures, mattress, and everything had obviously seen far better days,
breakfast was the only high point, and even it was of erratic and inconsistent quality
from item to item and day to day...

Room Tip: choose another hotel, you will be much happier... even the small guest houses one street over are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaysia

Address: 7 Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Malaysia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaysia Hotel Georgetown
Malaysia Georgetown
Hotel Malaysia Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.