We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat, Sleep, Relax, repeat the process” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat, Sleep, Relax, repeat the process”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice hotel. Very central. Manage to walk to Armenian street and good eating places for local fare. All within 15-25 min radius. Overall food and service were good. Stayed at the clud level. Was worth paying the extra $$ for the service. One of the staff Wan Razali make the stay for my two families of 7 very memorable. It was a good and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    599
    260
    53
    23
See reviews for
305
395
111
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great hotel in a good location. My friend advised me against it cited was old and tucked away in a secluded location but I went ahead with it and was so glad I did. I stayed in both G hotel and Traders and I prefer Traders, for some reasons

Yes, Traders is abit dated but it's still very well maintained and clean. We booked a Club room that includes tea snacks and evening cocktails. And their people... they are just great. Maybe it was their smiles, or their enthusiasm, or their helpfulness or friendliness or attitude, that just distinguishes them from others, in a very good way.

The location was great - next to the shopping malls and eateries, within walking distance to the famous streets for food hunts such as Kimberly and Mackenzie.

We travelled as a family with young kids and found the pools not very attractive, BUT, the best highlight was we could hop onto their free shuttle and land ourselves in Golden Sand Hotel at Batu Ferringhni to use their pools (free) and Adventure Zone (must pay). If you miss the shuttle back, you can take the public bus 101 back to Traders, just alight at Komtar bus stop (look out for the tall building).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great Service,Excellent staff and Management, Clean Rooms, Good Food.Mr Vickey in the Restaurant is very helpfull,The lacaion is slightly away from the main area,About 20 minutes walk.
Front Desk very helpful and pleasing.Good Laundry service

Room Tip: Room with King size bed on Tth Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent 5 days at the Traders Hotel Penang last month. All in all a very good hotel with attentive, yet unobstusive, staff, a good central location, and reasonably priced accomodation. Will most likely return next time I visit Penang.

Room Tip: Get a suite. They are quite affordable and it will allow you to have the AC running in the second ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for couple of days in July. Let's start with beginning, good central location in Georgetown and not too far from airport. Hotel check in was quick and smooth with professional and helpful staff. Room even though was a little dated and not the biggest, it was suitable as I didn't spend too much time in the room anyways. Concierge person was informative and gave us useful information on how to cover Penang in couple of days. Hotel is right next to couple of malls but don't expect much from them as they are quite basic. Best bit is that you can use facilities at Shangri-La (Golden Sands only) in Baru Ferringhi. I didnt use the pool or had breakfast so can't comment on them.
The only downside was that during last day there were a few tiny red ants in the bathroom, given that the whole plumbing and everything seemed quite old and not as clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything was enjoyable at this hotel. We arrived by bus from KL. The bus station is next door to the hotel so we didn't need to worry about a transfer. All staff at the hotel were, friendly and professional. Most were able to understand and communicate in English. Our room was comfortable though not enormous in size. Breakfast at the Traders started the day on a high point. They have the best omelette cook in Penang. The lap pool is clean and nice to swim in. The attendant is friendly and a great source of local knowledge. We would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Traders in Georgetown lives up to the reputation that the Shangri-La group have built. The staff were fantastic - professional and helpful. Our room was great and we enjoyed the time we spent by the pool each day. The little touches, like the pool attendant bringing us cold bottles of water throughout the day, made it even more enjoyable. The buffet breakfast is a force to be reckoned with - so many choices we usually ate breakfast and didn't worry about another meal until dinner time. Very good location close to the shopping centres and within walking distance of many great hawkers markets.

The hotel puts on a free shuttle between its hotels which we utilised one night. The only disappointing this is that the first shuttle goes at 11am and leaves the other resort at 4pm to return so you can't experience the night life without catching a taxi home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.