We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very professional and comfortable business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Traders Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very professional and comfortable business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Traders' staff were friendly, and quick to attend to any issues. The rooms were well-kept, and the bed very comfortable. Free and fast Internet was appreciated, although it was only wi-fi, with no ethernet. Location-wise, it was acceptable -- but this is more an issue with the Georgetown area rather than the hotel -- it's difficult to say where a "good" location in Georgetown would be. The city is not especially walking-friendly, nor is it easy to hail a cab, and does not have a modern mass transit system like the larger SE Asian cities (subway or train). As I opted to explore the area on foot, the hotel seemed like an oasis amidst the heat and traffic. I'm unsure if I would visit Penang again, but if I did I would have no issues staying at Traders, which is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    512
    186
    44
    18
See reviews for
238
336
92
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there over the weekend. Facilities are good and clean though it looks dated, especially from the exterior. Location is generally convenient, within walking distance to 3 major shopping malls and a short taxi ride away from Gurney. Staff is also friendly and accommodating. I like it that they offer stalks of roses to female guests at check in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Easy to move around. Near Geroge town, Little India. A bus terminator behind the hotel and shopping mall with Cinema just surround the hotel. Nearby lots of food to explore. Have free shutter service at 5.30pm to bring you to Golden Sand Resort. Can go there to see the night market and have dinner. From Golden Sand Resort you may take a bus back to the hotel, very convienence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel based on the reputation of the Traders chain and the location. The location was great - very central and convenient to all in Georgetown and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also, the free shuttle to and from their sister hotels in Battu Ferringhi is very convenient. I did however find the hotel needs a facelift. The hallways were dark and a bit musty. The rooms could use an update - musty smell, the bathroom could use an update and the TV was quite old - not a flat screen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days, extending twice for a day at a time, due to the sheer luxury.

The hotel is located at the centre of the City, in a complex that has a couple of malls. Parking is available within the hotel. The building itself is 25 years old, and no longer gleaming, but what they lack in chrome, they make up in the excellence of their service.

We stayed in the Club rooms. The rooms were well furnished, beautifully kept, and well-appointed. The Club Lounge is great to sit in, look out, and sip coffee.

The buffet breakfast has a decent selection, again, it is the service that sets it apart. Ever present, but non-obtrusive.

I did not use the pool or the spa. This is not a beach hotel, but if you want a quiet place to relax and sleep on very comfortable beds, I doubt there is anything better within a hundred miles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Traders Hotel in one of their Club Rooms. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Lina in the Traders Lounge check-in and she looked after us beautifully all during our stay. The room was very comfortable and the only criticism I would have was the bathroom had the shower over the bath and the bathroom was a little small. The breakfasts downstairs in the main dining area were wonderful and once again we were treated on a very personal level with Padre looking after us every day, making special "treats" for us as well as the Restaurant Manager taking time to talk to us and make sure all was well. This type of personal treatments is not often found in large Hotels and was therefore the highlight of our stay in Penang. We just loved our Farewell cheesecake with "good bye" in chocolate at breakfast on our last day. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a wonderful experience and we loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour in the Club Lounge where nothing was too much trouble and once again the staff were lovely. We also found a great little restaurant in Cintra Street called Sin Nam Huat (on the right hand side) which served the best duck and pork fillet with rice (just basic restaurant no frills) and it was the best duck I have ever had and it was all so cheap. If we returned to Penang we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, Usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Every hotel employee I dealt with was outstanding and interested in what I needed. I really felt like I was the center of attention at the hotel. The food was great and the concierge services were impeccable - they addressed me by name, based on one encounter the night prior.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traders Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Penang

Address: Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#4 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Penang is located in the heart of Georgetown. Apart from being Penang's premier business hotel, Shangri-La Hotel is also its main convention center, supported by superb meeting facilities, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment, a modern business center and a fully-equipped fitness center. Its rooms and suites offer a complete range of amenities one would expect from a 5-star deluxe hotel. Dining is superb, with master chefs serving up authentic Cantonese and Continental cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Traders Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Traders Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.