We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very professional and comfortable business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A very professional and comfortable business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Traders' staff were friendly, and quick to attend to any issues. The rooms were well-kept, and the bed very comfortable. Free and fast Internet was appreciated, although it was only wi-fi, with no ethernet. Location-wise, it was acceptable -- but this is more an issue with the Georgetown area rather than the hotel -- it's difficult to say where a "good" location in Georgetown would be. The city is not especially walking-friendly, nor is it easy to hail a cab, and does not have a modern mass transit system like the larger SE Asian cities (subway or train). As I opted to explore the area on foot, the hotel seemed like an oasis amidst the heat and traffic. I'm unsure if I would visit Penang again, but if I did I would have no issues staying at Traders, which is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    566
    228
    47
    22
See reviews for
287
368
102
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there over the weekend. Facilities are good and clean though it looks dated, especially from the exterior. Location is generally convenient, within walking distance to 3 major shopping malls and a short taxi ride away from Gurney. Staff is also friendly and accommodating. I like it that they offer stalks of roses to female guests at check in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Easy to move around. Near Geroge town, Little India. A bus terminator behind the hotel and shopping mall with Cinema just surround the hotel. Nearby lots of food to explore. Have free shutter service at 5.30pm to bring you to Golden Sand Resort. Can go there to see the night market and have dinner. From Golden Sand Resort you may take a bus back to the hotel, very convienence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel based on the reputation of the Traders chain and the location. The location was great - very central and convenient to all in Georgetown and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also, the free shuttle to and from their sister hotels in Battu Ferringhi is very convenient. I did however find the hotel needs a facelift. The hallways were dark and a bit musty. The rooms could use an update - musty smell, the bathroom could use an update and the TV was quite old - not a flat screen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days, extending twice for a day at a time, due to the sheer luxury.

The hotel is located at the centre of the City, in a complex that has a couple of malls. Parking is available within the hotel. The building itself is 25 years old, and no longer gleaming, but what they lack in chrome, they make up in the excellence of their service.

We stayed in the Club rooms. The rooms were well furnished, beautifully kept, and well-appointed. The Club Lounge is great to sit in, look out, and sip coffee.

The buffet breakfast has a decent selection, again, it is the service that sets it apart. Ever present, but non-obtrusive.

I did not use the pool or the spa. This is not a beach hotel, but if you want a quiet place to relax and sleep on very comfortable beds, I doubt there is anything better within a hundred miles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Traders Hotel in one of their Club Rooms. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Lina in the Traders Lounge check-in and she looked after us beautifully all during our stay. The room was very comfortable and the only criticism I would have was the bathroom had the shower over the bath and the bathroom was a little small. The breakfasts downstairs in the main dining area were wonderful and once again we were treated on a very personal level with Padre looking after us every day, making special "treats" for us as well as the Restaurant Manager taking time to talk to us and make sure all was well. This type of personal treatments is not often found in large Hotels and was therefore the highlight of our stay in Penang. We just loved our Farewell cheesecake with "good bye" in chocolate at breakfast on our last day. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a wonderful experience and we loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour in the Club Lounge where nothing was too much trouble and once again the staff were lovely. We also found a great little restaurant in Cintra Street called Sin Nam Huat (on the right hand side) which served the best duck and pork fillet with rice (just basic restaurant no frills) and it was the best duck I have ever had and it was all so cheap. If we returned to Penang we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, Usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Every hotel employee I dealt with was outstanding and interested in what I needed. I really felt like I was the center of attention at the hotel. The food was great and the concierge services were impeccable - they addressed me by name, based on one encounter the night prior.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the Pearl of the Orient, Penang is a thriving island-city diffused with avenues of untouched historic architecture.At the core of this is George Town, a hidden metropolis, where Traders Hotel, Penang, is located. One of the premier business hotels in the heart of George Town, Traders Hotel, Penang, boasts a central location with convenient access to the commercial and prime business zones in the area. 443 Rooms and suites look out to expansive views of the historical city of George Town. Together with gracious Malaysian hospitality, the busy traveller will feel right at home. Savour the enticing dining choices at Traders Hotel, Penang, ranging from local Malaysian specialties to European fare. At the end of an active day of sightseeing or business, enjoy a drink and light snacks in our engaging Lobby Lounge. Whether you choose to dive into opportunities or the deep blue sea, the scope of possibilities is wider at Traders Hotel, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.