We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've lost count of the times I've stayed here and I really wouldn't stay anywhere else, or at least not willingly. It's not the newest hotel in Penang and it's not the most luxurious, but it's well sited for work, central for restaurants and shops, and there's always the courtesy bus to the beach if I want to go there. Best of all is the staff attitude: I really feel welcome and valued as a known (and named!) individual, and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    600
    261
    53
    23
See reviews for
305
397
111
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SELANGOR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at Traders Penang in March, once in a club room.
Staff as usual were friendly, efficient and attentive. Great location. Still very good but the hotel building and facilities are showing their age. Tired and in need of a makeover. The executive lounge is too small and cannot accommodate the number of guests when occupancy is high. But the food and the service there are excellent.
Traders is one of a handful of hotels in the city centre, with an executive lounge, catering to businessmen and executives. But competition is coming - just across the road in the shape of the St Giles, a hotel in the same category as Traders. This means Traders will lose its location advantage against its peers such as the renovated Sunway or the E&O, although the latter is not strictly a business hotel. St Giles will have the upper hand, when it opens for business, because it's spanking new.
Traders maintains its very good rating because of the staff. The hotel needs updating, and a bigger executive lounge, more than ever, to face impending competition from the new kid on the block. I understand they plan to do this later this year.
An updated Traders will be able to hold its own against newer competitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the bus interchange and a huge mall. Hence, it is rather convenient if you are considering taking bus from the airport. However, the vicinity is rather dusty and disorganized. Upon stepping out of the hotel's main entrance, you'll be engulfed in hot and polluted air. However, most parts of Penang is that way.

The service staff were very friendly and greeted guests consistently. They were helpful and pleasant making the experience very comforting. The hotel also had a small pool on the 4th floor, which is perfect based on sheer heat during the day.

Room was old but sufficient for a comfortable stay.

Very good experience on the whole

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is a little old and tired. But for its price, can't complaint much really. It is conveniently located and provides free basement parking for guests. Friendly service from the staff. The rooms are clean though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masahiko
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is a old business hotel. Quite run down with all facilities looks rather out of date and out of shape. Front office staffs are polite and friendly while room service is good too. However, the hotel is seriously required an make over and renovation. Strategic location in the heart of Penang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestloi, THPSM, Director Of Sales & Marketing at Traders Hotel at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
June 14, 2013
Dear Masahiko
Greetings from Traders Hotel, Penang and thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email: ernest.loi@tradershotels.com for us to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ernest Loi
Director Of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and fresh and the staff were a dream, always greeting with a smile and recalling our preferences and cares. The room was a little tired but well kept and clean, with few personalised touches. Great location in Georgetown close to lots of sites and great hawker food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Traders Hotel Penang for two nights in March 2013. This was my second stay here, I also stayed for two nights in 2009.

The airport transfer arrangements are simply wonderful. Staff member waiting right outside the arrivals area, helping you with your luggage and brings you straight to the car (Toyota Innova - lots of space) with absolutely zero hassle. There was bottled water, newspaper and wifi in the car, and the driver was very friendly. I can't think of a better experience.

Upon arrival, I was ushered straight up to my room (deluxe, wifi and breakfast inclusive) where the check-in formalities were completed. A nice touch that makes things much easier. Overall every interaction with the hotel staff was positive.

The room was comfortable, especially the bed linens which were excellent quality. I slept well both nights with no interruptions. The inclusive wi-fi was very good and I never lost connection.

The inclusive breakfast had a good selection, and the service was very prompt and friendly.

Location wise, it doesn't get any better. You're so close to so many shops and restaurants - I didn't ever need a taxi and was able to walk everywhere I needed to go. And if you ever get lost, just look for Komtar and you'll easily be able to find your way back!

Some have commented that the hotel is in need of renovation. I can see their point - the decor is a bit dated. But the upkeep of the hotel is excellent, and the other positives far outweigh that minor quibble.

Overall, I love this place. When I'm back in Penang, I will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.