We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Location and service compensate for outdated conventionality”” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Jasper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
““Location and service compensate for outdated conventionality””
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Traders Hotel has seen better days, but its competitive rate and central location allow you to overlook the generic style and ignore the tackiness of the lobby bar scene. Being part of the Komtar complex, the hotel is steps from shopping, heritage sites, and Georgetown’s main bus terminal, making city excursions and day tripping a breeze. There’s even a Carrefour in one of the adjacent malls if you need snacks and toiletries. Those seeking more than a small wading pool as refuge from the heat can also benefit from the complimentary daily shuttle service to their sister resort. While Traders may lack character, the friendly service, along with the clean and spacious rooms make it a practical home base for exploring the rich historical surroundings.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    566
    222
    47
    21
See reviews for
283
367
100
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great spot I have stayed twice. I will keep going back. They offer a travel agent rate with ID. The Traders lounge is nice and you can walk to local street food vendors. Perfect for business in Penang.

Room Tip: The fresh juice at the Breakfast Buffet is great. The Traders Club stays open till 11 and is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked a club room and tbh was treated like royalty. The staff was so courteous, without being in your face. The club room facilities were excellent, having a few drinks and canapes watching the sun set was a great way to round off the day. The rooms are clean but in need of some modernisation which they will need to do to compete with an ever increasing market in Penang. The location is good, albeit right opposite a building site for another hotel! Highly recommended though,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Traders hotel is ideally located in the heart of George Town which was my top priority for choosing its central location with easy access to KOMTAR bus terminus conveniently linked to Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue within walking distance to Chowrasta where one can try Penang’s famous nasi kandar..
My 3D2N stay at the deluxe rooms was offered the cityscape view of the city rather disappointed not the expansive views of the Penang Bridge. But I was most obliged as my special request for adjoining rooms was met. Since I travelled with a family four which include my sister and her hubby plus my nephew; we preferred and insisted on connecting rooms for family fun and “silaturrahim”.
The deluxe rooms spacious (one king and two super twin beds) and adequate with bathrobes provided and surprisingly bathroom weighing scale plus a table clock on the bedside table. Not forgetting complimentary broadband internet access in the rooms for my nephew who rather stayed in the hotel rooms than going shopping with us.
Morning breakfast was superb with so many delectable and delicious food that guests be spoilt for choice. And I have to skipped lunch after sumptous buffet breakfast.for the past two days. Service staffs were very alert and attentive when come to clearing tables while kitchen staffs diligently served and replenished all the food and drinks needed top-up. I even caught a glimpse of the hotel GM just doing that to lend a helping hand during the peak morning breakfast which I think is quite rare. I have not encountered and never expected from the GM going the extra mile unlike other hotels like Kuala Lumpur or even in Malacca nothing compared to Traders hotel. Kudos to the GM and his staffs top-up the volume and keep up the ultimate excellent service.

Room Tip: Definitely12 floors and above with a view of the scenc and panaromic view of Penang Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in 2007, and based on that experience I booked this hotel for 6 nights stay in March 2013.
It is located in the center of the city with many shopping and food options around. Staff is very courteous and will guide you if you have questions. They have some tie-up with the TAXI agencies and it helps you to get TAXI at fixed price plus you know you would not be cheated as the hotel writes downs the taxi details before you leave.
The only issue I faced was the Internet connection, it was super crappy. After the first night I decided to check out, next day when I complained at the help desk. They were prompt to send some body to fix a router in my room, this improved the internet. though the backbone internet connection is low, but you can do basic Skype etc.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Do not take a room which is far from the Elevator, you may not get good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great business hotel. Centrally located. Staff friendly and alert. My room key didnt work on one occasion but staff quick to help. Even told me they will send someone up to my floor to help me out instead of having me run downstairs to reception! Few hotels would bother on such courtesy. Definitely will stay there again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel has it all. It is in Georgetown and next door to 3 shopping centers that range from very high end to mid range to bazar. It is very close to many historical attractions and the old part of the city. The other 3 areas for tourists (Gurney, Batu Ferringhi and Straits Quay) are very isolated from the local environment. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with excellent amenities. We stayed on a floor with access to the Trader's Lounge. this is an intimate room with a great view and very good breakfast selections as well as evening cocktails and snacks. The service is superb in the Lounge and the food has Chinese, Indian and western selections including eggs to order. The staff led by Wan Kezali, Kumar, Calvin and Lina were friendly, attentive, multilingual and very helpful. Kathryn on the front desk is very helpful and speaks flawless English.

If you are up to the heat, you can walk to many attractions and get a real feel for the town. If you'd rather take a cab, there is a cab stand across the street and cabs are inexpensive and readily available (unlike some other places like Straits Quay). There are three free shuttles daily to the distant Batu Ferringhi area which have easy access to the famous and must-see Batik Factory and Spice Garden.

There is a large in-house restaurant with Chinese, Indian, Malay and Western selections. There is also a jewelry store and a hairdresser on site as well as a spa. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this great city.

Room Tip: Always stay on a floor with access to the Trader's Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the Pearl of the Orient, Penang is a thriving island-city diffused with avenues of untouched historic architecture.At the core of this is George Town, a hidden metropolis, where Traders Hotel, Penang, is located. One of the premier business hotels in the heart of George Town, Traders Hotel, Penang, boasts a central location with convenient access to the commercial and prime business zones in the area. 443 Rooms and suites look out to expansive views of the historical city of George Town. Together with gracious Malaysian hospitality, the busy traveller will feel right at home. Savour the enticing dining choices at Traders Hotel, Penang, ranging from local Malaysian specialties to European fare. At the end of an active day of sightseeing or business, enjoy a drink and light snacks in our engaging Lobby Lounge. Whether you choose to dive into opportunities or the deep blue sea, the scope of possibilities is wider at Traders Hotel, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.