We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Heart of Beautiful Georgetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in George Town
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel in Heart of Beautiful Georgetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After various rounds of email conversation,which was not very prompt, I booked hotel through email. Checked in at 1200 in night, with no option other "smoking" room. It wasn't a good start to say the least.

Room was clean with all required amenities. Complimentary wifi was a nice add on. The hotel is located at very good location, near to many famous places in georgetown. An early morning walk or late evening stroll was highlight of our stay. The staff was very courteous

Breakfast was a let down. I didn't expect it to be served with such fewer options. Dinner was expensive with very fewer options.

Overall good stay but expensive .....

Room Tip: Higher the room, better the view .... Check for non-smoking room before confirming .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    578
    238
    50
    23
See reviews for
295
375
105
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my third time staying at Traders and I am thoroughly enjoying my stay. This is a wonderful hotel with a very helpful and detail oriented staff who continue to surprise me; whether it's a complimentary drink when checking in or a friendly note asking if I might need laundry service, I am becoming very spoiled.

Other reviewers have complained about the apparent dated-ness of the rooms or the location, but I consider these to be minor compared to the exemplary customer service. For business trips, Traders is the ideal hotel to base your activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked over internet and were given the opportunity to upgrade to Traders Club - breakfast, afternoon snacks and soft drinks included.
As a bonus to patrons, they run a bus to their beach resort a few times daily so you can use the beach, hotel facilities and showers & change rooms. You can stay later for the night markets, but you will have to catch the local bus home & have the correct change.
The Traders rooms are a bit dated, but were very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. I was told they are going going to do an upgrade soon.
Taxis are cheap, so you can get a cab around town easily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wife and I had a spot of R 'n R at Traders in late January/early February 2013. And, as usual, we came away happy with the experience.

We were greeted upon arrival by staff who remembered us (as usual) and were speedily checked in and taken to our room, which was the same one on our previous stay. The room was clean and well maintained - as usual - and the staff were just as helpful and courteous - as usual; nothing was too much trouble for them! The Traders Club and its staff, were first class.

Changes are afoot at Traders, with a new hotel being built right across the street. Changes we heard of include the Club facility possibly moving to a lower floor (for my money, it should stay on an upper floor) and possibly being relocated to the opposite side of the hotel, which offers great views of the city and coast. I hope the refurbishment won't see Traders lose its charm. Time will tell!

We use transfers, arranged by the hotel. They cost a few dollars more, but what a blessing it is to arrive in Penang, with one's body clock saying it's late at night, to be greeted by a hotel representative and escorted to a waiting air-conditioned up-market mini-bus; way to go!!!

Our last day at Traders saw the start of Chinese New Year, with a visit by a group performing a lion dance; noisy, but entertaining! Oh, and there was also a snake dance.

Many thanks for yet another great stay at Traders (this must make it about our seventh in recent years?

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side offer great views, over Komtar, other large buildings, leading to Penang cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. There is a shopping center next door but it's not the most convenient location for walking to the historical sites.

The rooms were dark and dated. We requested a non smoking room but on check in was told there was only smoking left. We didn't have a choice but to take it. The second day we were moved to a non-smoking room but in all honesty - it reaked of cigarettes even more than the first room.

Staff were polite but there was no warmth in service.

Would consider other options for next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room is clean with ever friendly service. The location is superb as you can walk to most of the famous hawkers food. The hair stylist at the hair saloon is very good and I love it! Hotel can arrange for reasonable city tour.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at the Traders Hotel, Penang. I am glad we chose this hotel based on the mostly good reviews in Trip Advisor. I am also glad that we took some reviewers advice and chose to upgrade to a Club room with Club facilities. I would like to advise any travellers thinking of staying here to do the same as it is well worth the extra money. You will definitely get more bang for your buck in service and amenities.
Our check-in was really smooth as we were whisked away to the 16th floor to a private check-in at the Club Lounge reception. This is a really nice touch and was really appreciated after a long flight and being stuck in a traffic jam. Check-in staff were excellent and really knew their job. This can be reassuring as there can sometimes be annoying delays during check-in and check-out. As happened to us later - but that is reported in another review of a different property.
Check-out is also done at the Club reception so there is no waiting in line as can happen with normal check-outs. It will pay to remember that the Club rooms extend to the 17th floor. I think this was a smoking floor.
The amenities at the Club Lounge include free cocktails, beer, wine and spirits - together with a good selection of hot and cold canapes between 6pm and 8pm each day. Outside of these hours you can avail yourself of a good range of non-alcoholic drinks, juices, tea and coffee together with a nice assortment of nibblies [nuts, pastries, sandwiches etc.] which are frequently replenished. This is a great place to spend some leisure time in between shopping and touring. The complimentary wi-fi and computer access is an added bonus if you need to catch up on work or just keep in touch via email. Wi-fi is also complimentary in the rooms.
Our room was located 4 doors down from the Club Lounge. I wouldn't place it in the "large" category but it was more than adequate, very clean and a really comfortable bed. The air-conditioning was excellent with controls that worked accurately. The only complaint I have about the room was the size of the wardrobe and the hanging space it contained. This was totally inadequate for one person staying more than two nights - let alone two people staying for five! We lived out of our suitcases for the entire five nights. This is one reason I have titled my review "almost perfect". The other relates to the size of the bathroom which could have been slightly larger. I also think they can do away with the bath and just include a shower recess. This would possibly make the room feel more spacious. However, these are minor blemishes on an otherwise excellent accommodation experience.
Housekeeping was also excellent with responses to requests for electric adapters, fresh milk etc, being carried out within minutes. Again, full marks to the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile. I had read in some of the reviews that the rooms were dated and in need of repair. This was definitely not the case with ours. The room was in excellent condition.
The pool and gym were very acceptable for a city hotel. People need to remember that this is not a resort. So, if one wants big pool areas, then one needs to stay at a resort. Don't book into a city hotel with that expectation. In saying this, I do realise that there are a few city hotels scattered around Malaysia that do offer large pools.
The location of the Traders Penang could not be better for shopping and restaurants. It is surrounded by major shopping malls, the newest being 1st Avenue, which is right next door. This is a great shopping centre with many floors of quality shopping. There are also many dining options within walking distance or maybe just a short cab ride away.
The Lobby Lounge at the Traders is a nice place for a night cap after an evening out on the town. There is live music on some nights which adds to the relaxed vibe. We only had breakfast at the Islander so I cannot comment on the food there. The breakfast buffet was good, with subtle changes made to the menu on most days.
The concierge service is second to none. Assistance was always timely and informed and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a cab.
Overall our stay at the Traders Georgetown was a very pleasant experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.