We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Jen's City Adventure
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in George Town
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at the Traders Hotel, Penang. I am glad we chose this hotel based on the mostly good reviews in Trip Advisor. I am also glad that we took some reviewers advice and chose to upgrade to a Club room with Club facilities. I would like to advise any travellers thinking of staying here to do the same as it is well worth the extra money. You will definitely get more bang for your buck in service and amenities.
Our check-in was really smooth as we were whisked away to the 16th floor to a private check-in at the Club Lounge reception. This is a really nice touch and was really appreciated after a long flight and being stuck in a traffic jam. Check-in staff were excellent and really knew their job. This can be reassuring as there can sometimes be annoying delays during check-in and check-out. As happened to us later - but that is reported in another review of a different property.
Check-out is also done at the Club reception so there is no waiting in line as can happen with normal check-outs. It will pay to remember that the Club rooms extend to the 17th floor. I think this was a smoking floor.
The amenities at the Club Lounge include free cocktails, beer, wine and spirits - together with a good selection of hot and cold canapes between 6pm and 8pm each day. Outside of these hours you can avail yourself of a good range of non-alcoholic drinks, juices, tea and coffee together with a nice assortment of nibblies [nuts, pastries, sandwiches etc.] which are frequently replenished. This is a great place to spend some leisure time in between shopping and touring. The complimentary wi-fi and computer access is an added bonus if you need to catch up on work or just keep in touch via email. Wi-fi is also complimentary in the rooms.
Our room was located 4 doors down from the Club Lounge. I wouldn't place it in the "large" category but it was more than adequate, very clean and a really comfortable bed. The air-conditioning was excellent with controls that worked accurately. The only complaint I have about the room was the size of the wardrobe and the hanging space it contained. This was totally inadequate for one person staying more than two nights - let alone two people staying for five! We lived out of our suitcases for the entire five nights. This is one reason I have titled my review "almost perfect". The other relates to the size of the bathroom which could have been slightly larger. I also think they can do away with the bath and just include a shower recess. This would possibly make the room feel more spacious. However, these are minor blemishes on an otherwise excellent accommodation experience.
Housekeeping was also excellent with responses to requests for electric adapters, fresh milk etc, being carried out within minutes. Again, full marks to the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile. I had read in some of the reviews that the rooms were dated and in need of repair. This was definitely not the case with ours. The room was in excellent condition.
The pool and gym were very acceptable for a city hotel. People need to remember that this is not a resort. So, if one wants big pool areas, then one needs to stay at a resort. Don't book into a city hotel with that expectation. In saying this, I do realise that there are a few city hotels scattered around Malaysia that do offer large pools.
The location of the Traders Penang could not be better for shopping and restaurants. It is surrounded by major shopping malls, the newest being 1st Avenue, which is right next door. This is a great shopping centre with many floors of quality shopping. There are also many dining options within walking distance or maybe just a short cab ride away.
The Lobby Lounge at the Traders is a nice place for a night cap after an evening out on the town. There is live music on some nights which adds to the relaxed vibe. We only had breakfast at the Islander so I cannot comment on the food there. The breakfast buffet was good, with subtle changes made to the menu on most days.
The concierge service is second to none. Assistance was always timely and informed and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a cab.
Overall our stay at the Traders Georgetown was a very pleasant experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    609
    267
    54
    23
See reviews for
309
402
113
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in February 2013.

What I liked:
• Nice room (a bit small), quite well equipped and cozy
• Access to the club lounge with complimentary evening cocktails and so on
• Helpful and very polite staff
• Location (close to Komtar and a few other attractions as well as shopping malls)
• Excellent breakfast with many options satisfying virtually anyone and fantastic staff

What could be improved:
• I could hear noises from the street due to some construction works being done at a very late evening. Definitely the room was not soundproof enough
• There was something wrong with the air conditioning in my room and whenever I left for some time it got extremely cold inside (way below expected 23 degrees)
• The quality of the food served in the restaurant was not up to my expectations. The taste of my food was rather weird and not satisfying

Overall, it was a good stay and I might consider coming back to Traders Penang hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2 rooms and 2 nights at this hotel in this Chinese New Year. We went in 2 cars and 1 of our car was parked at hotel parking for 2nights and never taken. But at the 2nd night we noticed that this car was badly scratched and no satisfied reply from management till todate. Besides that, our rooms were not clean and toiletries were not replenish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestloi, THPSM, Director Of Sales & Marketing at Traders Hotel at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
June 14, 2013

Dear MJJ102320

Greetings from Traders Hotel, Penang and thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email: ernest.loi@tradershotels.com for us to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ernest Loi
Director Of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel due to Chinese New Year. It too was crowded to a maximum. A rather old hotel in need of some refurbishment, rooms especially. Surprised to see its connected to Shangri La group. The buffet breakfast was included and enjoyable; a nice range of offerings.

Room Tip: Views from rooms at back appear better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Traders hotel is in the perfect location to explore Georgetown and Penang. The staff were extremely helpful and the staff on the concierge desk were great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast had excellent choice and variety. If you book a club room you can enjoy free cocktails, beer, wine and canapés every evening from 6-8. This is a great option. The pool and gym area were excellent. The hotel has internal access to a new mall (1st avenue) if you want a bit of shopping. A great place to stay in Penang with all the amenities. Not the cheapest place, but you pay for what you get. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a club room if you can, then you can enjoy cocktails and canapes in the evening and free juices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Regular to Penang but first time staying in Traders Hotel. Location is definitely spot on: being in the centre of the town and just beside some of the major shopping malls in Penang, namely 1st Avenue (newest kid on the block), Prangin Mall, Komtar and Gama. You just need to cross the various roads to get to these malls; there used to be a connector from the hotel to Komtar but this has since been sealed off.

Many great local food delights around the hotel eg, Penang's famous Teochew Chendol, Char Kway Teow etc. So one practically does not need to take the public bus / shuttle / rent a car to savour great local Penang food.

This hotel, thou' still holds a generally classy ambience, is starting to show its age, particularly in aspects of the guestroom and some facilities like the small swimming pool. Glad that hotel staff paid attention to my requests on Booking.com website and gave me the room type as needed. Room ambience is pleasant but furniture like dressing tables and cupboards are old. The bed is decently comfortable albeit on the firm side. Well stocked minibar but the fridge was not solidly cold. Amenities were well appointed. Bathroom was alright except the water pressure from the shower was rather weak despite turning the taps to full blast. My room also had to make do with an old television that had poor picture and sound quality (not even a basic LCD TV was provided).

There was free wifi in the room with decent signal. However it was unfortunate that iPhone 5 users have difficulty connecting to the network. The front desk manager Natsha was certainly very helpful to bring a router to my room at 9 at night to enhance signal and my phone then connected seamlessly thereafter. That's certainly great service.

Didnt get to try hotel food as package did not come with breakfasts and there were just too many good local food around the hotel.

Underground carpark was sufficient and never a problem and it's safe with 'guests access pass'. What I like is that parking is not free for non-guests so people don't abuse the hotel's carpark. Parking is complimentary for guests.

Nonetheless, a hotel with good value (at prices slightly lower than equivalent but newer hotels along the coveted Gurney Drive) and convenience. Would recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When you decide to take a trip to Penang, you first need to decide if you want to stay by the beach or live in the city... Should you choose to stay in the city, then this hotel is definitely a good choice. The location is really good, smack in central Penang right next to the famous Komtar building. There's plenty of really good food options nearby and the concierge at the hotel would be happy to help. Service is not really personalized and basically standard four star service, nothing great and nothing bad about it... I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on it though my advice would be to eat outside the hotel since you're in the land of food! Pricing is pretty decent as well and a standard room is more than enough. The room was a bit small and dated but the bed large and comfy. Definitely a great city location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.