We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George Town experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Traders Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“George Town experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On our bi-annual trip to Penang we have a few days at Traders Hotel in the heart of George Town before heading out to Feringgi Beach and the Golden Sands Resort.
We stay at Traders Hotel for a few nights so that we can experience the charm of this Heritage Listed city.
Traders Hotel is central to all the places of interest and shopping. Being of the Shangri-La group we find the Hotel of the very best of comfort and can't praise enough the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. From front desk to housekeeping we were always acknowledged and greeted with friendly smiles.
Well done Traders Hotel. Can't wait to come back again in May 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    519
    190
    44
    18
See reviews for
248
340
91
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is next door to a large shopping mall and transport exchange, so for those not wanting to drive, it is really convenient. The reception staff will organise day and half day tours for your too. We had our breakfasts and several dinners in their fine restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Compared to the newer hotels alogn Gurney Drive or even along the beach at Batu Ferringhi the rooms at the traders were old and needed some updating. Our room safe did not work.

That said, Traders' excellent service and location (in the heart of georgetown) is unbeatable when it comes to experiencing penang. The service and food at breakfast buffet was superb despite the crowds. We could always get taxis at the hotel (not always the case at other hotels). Best of all, the location next to the mall and close to heritage trails and hawker food stalls made experiencing Penang more complete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a junior suite for my 2 teenage kids and myself for a few nights. We drove up to Penang and arrived before the 2pm check in time but was welcomed all the same. They were pretty full but they informed me very politely that the room would be ready soon as their housekeeping was getting it ready. They let me check in and leave my luggage whilst the kids and I went off to look for some lunch. About half hour later, their reception called to let me know that my room was ready and we could get the keys and settle in.
Our rate came with breakfast either at the coffee house on the ground floor or the business floor. The first day, we had breakfast at the coffee house. Though the spread was substantial, it didn't really appeal to the kids. However, what's nice was coffee and tea was delivered to your table in a thermos. The kids had milo in a thermos too!
The second day, since we were in the business suite, we headed up to the 15 /16 (i forget) floor's business centre for breakfast. Though it was a small spread, the kids enjoyed the food more than downstairs. They also had a cooked breakfast - eggs anyway you want done for you. There was free flow of non alcoholic drinks all day. The kids could go up to the lounge provided they were accompanied by an adult.
Traders also had a tie in with their sister hotel at Batu Ferringi, Rasa Sayang Resort. Traders guests could bus into Rasa Sayang, spent the day there (with signing privileges) and bus back in the Traders bus. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to make use of that privilege.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in October at the hotel and was overall happy with it.

Location is excellent, close to shopping centres and walking distance to good eating places.

The room is of average size and the bathroom is dated with shower over the bath and shower curtain instead of screen. Room and bathroom were well-kept and clean and amenities provided were good which included bathrobes and slippers and in-room safe.

Service was generally good - front desk/reception staff, porters and concierge were friendly, helpful and eager to please. Waiting staff in the coffee lounge were attentive.

However, the buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing as the range was limited and there was little variation from day to day. Food in the coffee lounge was very pricey e.g. a plate of chay kuei teow (Malaysian fried flat noodles) costs RM32 when one can get the same thing in a coffee shop outside for RM3 or RM4!

All in all, would stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to friends who wish to stay in the city centre instead of at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Traders Hotel in Georgetown recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location close to the central bus terminal, cafes, shops and the old town buildings. Although, an older hotel the rooms are very clean and staff friendly and helpful. We were happy to stay at the hotel, and actually stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the standard by which all hotels should measure their staff performance. As Shangri-la's trademark, the staff is so warm and friendly that they truly make you feel at home. Arrival, departure, administration, help & advice during our stay; it all was managed wonderfully well. Our baby son quickly became the hotel 'mascot' and we were treated with smiles and friendly gestures all the time. The hotel itself is getting a bit older but that has it's charm. Only the pool area is so-so and could use some re-styling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Penang

Address: Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#4 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the Pearl of the Orient, Penang is a thriving island-city diffused with avenues of untouched historic architecture.At the core of this is George Town, a hidden metropolis, where Traders Hotel, Penang, is located. One of the premier business hotels in the heart of George Town, Traders Hotel, Penang, boasts a central location with convenient access to the commercial and prime business zones in the area. 443 Rooms and suites look out to expansive views of the historical city of George Town. Together with gracious Malaysian hospitality, the busy traveller will feel right at home. Savour the enticing dining choices at Traders Hotel, Penang, ranging from local Malaysian specialties to European fare. At the end of an active day of sightseeing or business, enjoy a drink and light snacks in our engaging Lobby Lounge. Whether you choose to dive into opportunities or the deep blue sea, the scope of possibilities is wider at Traders Hotel, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Traders Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Traders Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.