We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Nyonya food like no other!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Nyonya Cuisine

Mama's Nyonya Cuisine
31-D, Abu Siti Lane, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
4-2291318
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Nyonya food like no other!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is the place to be in Penang to get your Nyonya fix! Food is abundant in variety and the portion is good for sharing. The food that we chose were not the typical peranakan dishes and they never disappoint, especially the wild boar rendang that was really tender.

Pricing & service was good, with the restaurant decorated in a very homely atmosphere. I would definitely return to the restaurant for more in the future!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rare, authentic Nyonya restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

There are quite a few restaurants in Penang offering Nyonya cuisine but this is the most authentic and satisfying that I've had so far.

Highlights of our meal included the chicken kapitan (curry), ju hu char (sliced root veg stir fried with dried squid), perut ikan (tamarind fish stew) and lor bak(deep fried spring rolls containing meat in 5spice powder). The icy nutmeg drink, a penang favorite, was good too.

Unlike some other reviewers, we were asked if we wanted the tidbit/appetizer before they brought it to us. I think it is the norm in malaysia for tidbits (eg peanuts) to be chargeable, so I was not surprised that the appetizer (crunchy anchovies and onion salsa) was included in the bill. (It was nice if u like anchovies and onions!)

Overall, it was a good experience and I would come again the next time I'm in penang

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Four of us had lunch here and paid only RM120 for a big clay pot of Assam Fish, wild boar rendang, a salad, a fried veggie, a few appetizers, and many repeat glasses of nutmeg juice. It's the best value for money meal we've had in Penang. And we thoroughly enjoyed all the dishes we have.
I'm not sure what the others were complaining about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews about Rick Stein and Ang Lee etc, we went there with high expectations about the food. Firstly, our hotel tried to call about 10 times to book us a table (as it was the recommended thing to do), but got no answer. So we went there anyway. When we got there, we asked the server if she got the call from our hotel and she said no. And when asked why no one had answered the phone when we tried to call so many times, we were met with an indifferent 'the phone is somewhere else'.....if we knew that there was only going to be 3 other tables of diners, we wouldn't have bothered with the whole palaver of booking a table!
Now comes the food.....the wild boar curry and the kerabu bok nee (cloud ear fungus salad) were ok, but the shrimp fritters, although crispy, were really quite tasteless. Whatever you do, do not try to be adventurous and order the nutmeg juice......think tiger balm in a glass!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not to my liking, more misses than hits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Four of us had lunch here over the weekend, thinking that we would be brought back to our grandmother's kitchen. Sadly, it was not to be. We all agreed that we will not be coming back here. As we had read in other reviews, they did the same with the fried ikan bilis dish, not informing about the charges but simply serving it as an appetiser. As my hubby is a fan of a ikan bilis, we relented and accepted it.

We had the assam pedas (grouper), kacang botol kerabu, lobak, otak-otak, tau yu bak, inche kabin, perut ikan and sambal prawns with petai. Sad to say that only the sambal prawns was decently good, the rest were just eatable to our group. Even the sambal belachan was a disappointment to us. The prices are not cheap either. And to add to that, we had to endure a rather grumpry waitress who seemed rather unhappy to be serving our table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mama's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Nyonya Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.