We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick Stein was right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Nyonya Cuisine

Mama's Nyonya Cuisine
31-D, Abu Siti Lane, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
4-2291318
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Rick Stein was right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After seeing Rick Stein's reference to this restaurant, we through that we would seek it out. It is pretty straightforward to find, being halfway down Abu Situ Lane. Parking can be a bit difficult in the evening but an Indian guy on a bike patrols the street, helps find you a parking spot and then asks for a few ringgit and issues a ticket on your windscreen. Don't know it is legitimate or just a very enterprising form of local entrepreneurship. Of course you can always walk as it central to the historical centre, not far from the Komitar.

Very friendly welcome once inside. It is obviously a family-run place. Do not expect European style decoration. The decor is very basic but very clean. We had a great meal at Mama's and will certainly return next time we are in Georgetown. We opted Wild Boar Rendang, instead of beef. We also ordered Chicken Kopitam, another Nyonya staple, and Assam Fish. All three dishes had excellent curries at their base, with distinct flavors.

The courses are not too big that you do not have space for dessert. We tried the sago pudding
with sweet yam and coconut milk. Fantastic! Family members would stop for a chat and talk about the dishes so that it gave a much more interesting dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

You need to make a booking as the place is very small but it is well worth it. The food was very tasty and the lady that served us was very helpful in choosing what to have. Spent about 60 MYR for two, including drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Most amazing Nonya food I have ever tasted although had local friends host us to this wonderful restaurant , the food was excellent perfect blend of this soon to be non existent cuisine ... a absolute must do when visiting Penang

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food. So glad we went there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderful home cooked nonya food.
Family restaurant atmosphere.
clean, authentic flavours.
great experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Taipei City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time trying Nyonya dishes and it was good. Very tasty. A bit expensive for younger travelers. It took us (two person) RM114.5 for 4 dishes, 3 drinks and a dessert. However, love the restaurant for their helpful staffs, good atmosphere and nice cooking. I'll recommend it to other visitors to Penang.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mama's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Nyonya Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.