We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit when in Penang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Nyonya Cuisine

Mama's Nyonya Cuisine
31-D, Abu Siti Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
4-2291318
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 391 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chinese PinkAddict in Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit when in Penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cozy ambience not too classy nor shabby. Authentic cuisine and friendly waiters. Tasty food. Definitely will visit again next time when I'm in penang. Even New York Times reviewed this restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    23
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delta, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Nyonya cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Mama's is a great introduction to Nyonya cuisine. Being our first time eating this type of food, we can't compare it to a previous meal. What we tried though was very good. As requested, they ensured our food wasn't too spicy. It was just the right heat but not enough to burn our mouths. We enjoyed the curry fish head and otak otak(fish cake) the most.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Nyonya food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Book if you are going in the evening as it is small and gets very full. We ate very well on 60 MYR for two, including drinks. Food we had was excellent,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok la.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Some of the dishes were very good like the Otak Otak and the Loh Bak but the Curry fish (Garoupa) tasted like the fish had been cooked seperately to the curry sauce and simply added at the end to a ready made sauce. It did not taste like it was cooked together. Other dishes also tasted the same way as though they had been merely assembled form pre-cooked parts. The Assam prawns were like this too. maybe steamed or boiled previously and the sauce stirred through. There was no infusion of flavour in the meat. It's ok but you don't feel it's special. They're very busy and it's one of those places were their priority is to get 'em fed and going rather than worrying about the quality of your experience. It is also quite pricey for what they offer - uneven quality and zero ambience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a very nice place for good nyonya cuisine and it offers wonderful ambience and setting for friends or family get-togethers. Enjoyed the sambal petai, otak-otak, curry fish head.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to Mama's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Nyonya Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.