We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location was superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Asia Hotel Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Asia Hotel Penang to your Saves list
New Asia Hotel Penang
110, Jalan Pintal Tali, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 150 George Town B&B and Inns
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The location was superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For a budget hotel the location was superb. Stayed there for 1 night last March 2013 and the staff was really accommodating even though we arrived at the wee hour of the morning. They let us stay in the lobby and told us we can already check-in by 10am. Now that is a service! Aside from that just below the hotel you can experience Penang street food as well as just being a walking distance from a mall. The location was really superb!

My only concern though is that the a/c in the room is not that great, aside from everything has been very good.

Room Tip: Asked for a room with good a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
32
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice in the last few years, it is a budget hotel and a bit scruffy but clean and central. Penang is not the cheapest of places to stay so this is Okfor the price. The staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

New Asia provides really good rooms and fast wifi right in the heart of Chinatown, steps away from the best Chinese street food in the neighborhood.

The staff is excellent and very helpful with directions. I came to Penang to visit the Bujang Valley Archaeological Museum, about 25 km north of Penang in Merbok, and the staff gave me clear advice about how to get there in the fastest and cheapest manner possible.

88 ringgit per night is well worth it for this place. I'd definitely stay here again when back in Georgetown.

By the way, the address is 71 Kimberely Street. They have two entrances, so that explains the confusion. But Kimberely Street is where the markets are, so that's the more useful one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the place did the job. The rooms are clean and although the bathroom is very small, the shower is good. We had a room to the street side, which give us a lot of noise until late in the evening, mainly because the windows did not close. The location is perfect, close to the bus station, shopping malls and within walking distance of the old center. The staff was very very helpfull, we would go back just for them! It might be worth asking for a room away from the street!

Room Tip: Ask a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Tho, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is very near to Komtar bus station and shopping malls. You can find a lot of hawker stalls in the area days and nights. There's a dim sum house next to the hotel which open every morning, you can find the best dim sum in town over there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corner are usually bigger with the same price. However, it'll be a bit noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here. Never regreat, will come again. Why ?

1) Food street just down stair day and come night around 530pm, different group of food vendors appears

2) near to most shopping mall, bus station,cafes, heritage site all within walk,

3) rooms with balcony are clean, sheets change evey 2 days but made modern with good power shower- cold or hot, sit on toilet bowl. old ancient pernakan windows and doors . Ask for DVD player n they will be glad to load some CD to you : )

4) ask for room facing inside if you are sensitive to noise as the morning, those coffes shops n shops are getting ready for busines can be noisy

5) staffs are very friendly especially , all can speak english, mandarin and local dialects n be ready to provide informations for food, sight seeing

Room Tip: rooms facing inside are quiter, they have big n small rooms on both floors, air con n fan inside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in Chinatown near Komtar Kompleks which has a shopping mall, bus station, restaurants etc. It is a short walk from Little India area, the main strip of bars and many of the tourist sights such as Penang museum, Fort Cornwallis, Old City Hall and many mosques and temples.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, offering free wifi, laundry service, advice on getting around and the room was just huge! (although the smallest shower room you could imagine for a room this size! Prepare to drench the floor and toilet when showering!)

Generally we were very pleased, the only thing we didn't feel 100% comfortable with was that the side/back door which kind of led out to the back of the hotel did not seem very secure, the bolts didn't fit into the holes and we were concerned it would be easy to push through, aswell as letting numerous bugs in! After alot of shoving and pulling my partner managed to wedge it so it was abit tighter, but might be an idea to check this before leaving the room. The shutters were brought down and locked at the main 2 entrances though.

Also be wise to the fact that there is a curfew, which we were not informed of and returned one night (2am) to find ourselves locked out! Luckily the owner sleeps at the hotel so was able to open up to let us in but just bear this in mind if you are likely to stay out late of an evening!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and this hotel is great for a few days sightseeing in a good location with nice large rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#31 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#27 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#6 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Asia Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Asia Hotel Penang

Address: 110, Jalan Pintal Tali, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Asia Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Asia Hotel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Asia Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.