We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Asia Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added New Asia Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Asia Hotel Penang
110, Jalan Pintal Tali, Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Kortrijk, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the place did the job. The rooms are clean and although the bathroom is very small, the shower is good. We had a room to the street side, which give us a lot of noise until late in the evening, mainly because the windows did not close. The location is perfect, close to the bus station, shopping malls and within walking distance of the old center. The staff was very very helpfull, we would go back just for them! It might be worth asking for a room away from the street!

Room Tip: Ask a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
My Tho, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is very near to Komtar bus station and shopping malls. You can find a lot of hawker stalls in the area days and nights. There's a dim sum house next to the hotel which open every morning, you can find the best dim sum in town over there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corner are usually bigger with the same price. However, it'll be a bit noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here. Never regreat, will come again. Why ?

1) Food street just down stair day and come night around 530pm, different group of food vendors appears

2) near to most shopping mall, bus station,cafes, heritage site all within walk,

3) rooms with balcony are clean, sheets change evey 2 days but made modern with good power shower- cold or hot, sit on toilet bowl. old ancient pernakan windows and doors . Ask for DVD player n they will be glad to load some CD to you : )

4) ask for room facing inside if you are sensitive to noise as the morning, those coffes shops n shops are getting ready for busines can be noisy

5) staffs are very friendly especially , all can speak english, mandarin and local dialects n be ready to provide informations for food, sight seeing

Room Tip: rooms facing inside are quiter, they have big n small rooms on both floors, air con n fan inside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in Chinatown near Komtar Kompleks which has a shopping mall, bus station, restaurants etc. It is a short walk from Little India area, the main strip of bars and many of the tourist sights such as Penang museum, Fort Cornwallis, Old City Hall and many mosques and temples.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, offering free wifi, laundry service, advice on getting around and the room was just huge! (although the smallest shower room you could imagine for a room this size! Prepare to drench the floor and toilet when showering!)

Generally we were very pleased, the only thing we didn't feel 100% comfortable with was that the side/back door which kind of led out to the back of the hotel did not seem very secure, the bolts didn't fit into the holes and we were concerned it would be easy to push through, aswell as letting numerous bugs in! After alot of shoving and pulling my partner managed to wedge it so it was abit tighter, but might be an idea to check this before leaving the room. The shutters were brought down and locked at the main 2 entrances though.

Also be wise to the fact that there is a curfew, which we were not informed of and returned one night (2am) to find ourselves locked out! Luckily the owner sleeps at the hotel so was able to open up to let us in but just bear this in mind if you are likely to stay out late of an evening!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and this hotel is great for a few days sightseeing in a good location with nice large rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the New Asia Hotel for three nights in December 2012 as part of a tour month tour around SE Asia. We initially booked one of the cheaper double rooms for $28 a night - when we arrived our room wasn't quite ready but the gentleman we met on reception was very friendly and helpful and offered us a complimentary coffee while they made it up. It only took 5 minutes or so and we were happy to wait.

On first impressions we were really pleased with the hotel and the room - the hotel is located in a traditional old shophouse building in one of the historic parts of the city. Our room had two large double beds, a fridge, desk, wardrobe, aircon and an internal bathroom. The bathroom - as other reviews have mentioned - is a box in the side of the room without a roof, so anything you do in there can be heard by anyone else in the room. Just worth bearing in mind...!

The problem we had came in the form of the beds - once we sat on them we realised the mattresses were still covered in the stiff plastic mattresses usually get delivered in! As a result, that night every time you moved an inch the whole thing crackled underneath you. Needless to say it didn't make for a particularly comfortable night's sleep!

The other issue was that our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the street with all the hackers stalls. I don't usually consider myself to be a light sleeper, but the noise at night was so loud we didn't get a wink of sleep (between that and the plastic!) and the noise didn't die down until gone 5am.

The next morning we asked the staff on reception if we could move to a quieter room and they were more than happy to oblige. We moved up to the second floor and the room was much nicer. There was an entrance room with a sofa, completely separate ensuite bathroom and large bedroom with one king size bed - but best of all, there was no plastic on the mattress! And unlike the room downstairs the bed also had proper top-sheets rather than the slightly odd towel-sheets we'd encountered in a few Malaysian guesthouses.

We were also pleased to find that the owners didn't charge us any additional cost for moving to the quieter room.

The location of the hotel is great - within easy walking distance to plenty of bars, cafes and the fantastic night market (best food we had in Malaysia!).

If we were visiting Penang again we would definitely stay here again, provided we could get a room at the back of the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10PM, since we'd been travelling all day from Koh Phangan to Penang on minibuses, taxis, boats and pretty much every vehicle imaginable. The staff were very nice and polite, I think they prefer you to inform them if you arrive after 5PM, which we had done by email the day before.

The room was really spacious, and although we had originally booked a room with one queen sized bed, they gave us a room with two with the same price. Aircon, private bathroom, writing desk, minifridge - what else could one ask for? And everything was very clean.

When you come down the stairs, be sure to eat some late night dinner at the restaurant / hawker stall just left of the entrance. Duck porridge was delicious! Also check out the Indian places in Little India, Georgetown is a veritable heaven of street food.

If your room is near the reception and you have your own bathroom, you probably won't check the common area - there's free drinking water there, just behind the reception, which we didn't notice before the morning we left. Komtar terminal is also very close, there's decent shopping in the mall just next to Komtar and the terminal itself has straight buses to almost anywhere, including Cameron Highlands which was our next stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel recently.

Pro:
We arrived early in the morning by overnight train from Kuala Lumpur and the hotel graciously allowed us to check in early to our room.

Room was clean and decently big and had a balcony, which was a nice place to watch the night stalls on the busy street below.

Hotel is located near stop #8/9/13/14 of the free tourist bus (CAT shuttle bus). There is a decent Chinese dim sum restaurant right across the street from the hotel, but it is only open in the mornings.

Free cold filtered water offered in the shared sitting area by the lobby.

Con:
Hotel is located at the edge of Georgetown so can be quite a far walk to some of the main historic sights (take the free CAT bus instead).

The bathroom in the room does not have floor to ceiling walls. It can be slightly embarrassing as sounds will echo and magnify. May not be a concern if you travel with somebody intimate...

Some of the staff are more helpful than others. Always ask them to locate restaurants / sights on the map as their oral directions can be off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with floor to ceiling bathroom walls.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Asia Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Asia Hotel Penang

Address: 110, Jalan Pintal Tali, Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your New Asia Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Asia Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Asia Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.