We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delicious, Good service and price"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dim Sum Food Restaurant

Dim Sum Food Restaurant
63 Macalister Road 10400 Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Delicious, Good service and price"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came at Sunday noon where there almost no table for us to sit but their staff quickly notice and help us to find the table. we ate a lot of dim sum and char kuetio just for 27RM, what a surprise how cheap it was. Next day we came back again and the staff lady also very nice and helpful to guide me to find the place that i search for..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    3
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“cheap and yummy dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

delicious dim sum, soo many variety of dim sum and the most important the price is verry cheap compare to other dim sum resto
location mc allister road penang off lorong selamat

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cheap and very casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This local dim-sum spot was packed frequently, and it has the same atmosphere as most hawker centres in the city. This was not your upscale dim-sum restaurant you would expect in Hong Kong, but a stripped down version for what Georgetown is famous, cheap good food with no pretension. Self service was key to dining here. Find a table, settle down and order whatever selections on the few carts passed by. If you didn't want to wait, go to the counter at the back and ordered from the staff. The server only came by once to take order for drinks and any special order. You may bring your own tea and unlimited hot water for tea will be charged per person. In addition to the good selection of dim sum, you may order prepared dishes such as fried noodles from the server. Overall, the food was decent, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place was awesome! My wife and I ate until we were full and it still only cost 30 ringit including a can of coke and tea. All of your favourites are here; dumplings, pork buns, chickens feet, egg tarts, and more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great - fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We actually already had breakfast, so took it with us for our drive back to Subang Jaya, had it at one of the stopovers and regretted not buying more!! What a shame!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dim Sum Food Restaurant also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island

Been to Dim Sum Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dim Sum Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.