We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 Love Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 23 Love Lane to your Saves list
23 Love Lane
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 147 George Town B&B and Inns
Newcastle, NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

23 Love Lane is in a quiet location in the historical part of Penang close to Little India, museums and other points of interest. The hotel is beautifully renovated and small with just ten rooms, which means great individual service. Interesting art works, heritage furniture, a library area and relaxing garden space mean this is somewhere it is easy to relax. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They arranged a great tour to the national park for us at the last minute, and even provided a packed breakfast for us when we had an early plane to catch on our last morning. The breakfasts are interesting and tasty and include western and local options. The bathroom is large and there is plenty of hot water. The whole place is very clean. The price is a little high, although we got a special which made it more reasonable. I'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Anglo Indian suite opens onto the library and guest kitchen which feels like your own house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
70
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you're looking for a boutique stay, It's definitely a great and beautiful hotel. Great location and good friendly service. Quiet location yet not inconvenient!
Hotel staff even make a great Local Nutmeg Ginger Ale. Miss it so much !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I may be harsh in my opinion but lets face it the expectations from the top hotel in Georgetown were high. I will try to be factual. 23 lovelane has great location, superb staff and thats it. In my view it is a B&B not hotel. It has some charm and touch but it is just pretty renovated house with several rooms. Breakfast on the other hand is a little bit disapoinying. It lacks personal touch and variety is very limited. Overall good place but if you want to compare apples with apples dont expect hotel service level from 23 lovelane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This small, ten room boutique hotel is meticulously restored, each room offering a taste of old Penang. The gardens are refreshing and tranquil, staff top class, interested and friendly, the afternoon tea sumptuous, certainly worth coming back for. Location perfect, artworks smart and interesting, an all round satisfying stay. Wish i could live there.

Room Tip: Downstairs you hear upstairs movement but it's not as if people are dancing or anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the Indian Shop House, a two-bedroom villa. The best of it is the concept of the hotel, it seems very cultural and artistic to me, I totally am in love with way they mixed up all those pastel colors together, just simply the best.

The interior reminded me of my grandmother's home in the south of Thailand where I missed the most...

I will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: If you come in a group of 4 people, please try the Indian Shop House, you will be impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

First impressions : arrived late and they had no records of our booking and we were set up in a sister hotel 20mins drive away but the manager was most apologetic and helpful.

Location : just a street away from all the famous street foods of Penang and what it has to offer, so, for us is excellent!

Room : loved the entire hotel and room. It is always great to be part of history staying in a lovingly restored house, everything was so well decorated and preserved with some modern touches.

Overall, we loved the warmth and generousity of this place and the people running it including the old couple tending the security was so lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and calm surroundings. Our stay at 23 Love Lane was superb. We arrived in a flurry as we had just checked out at another hotel and we were on our way to Battu Ferringhi beach. We dropped our cases while the taxi waited and as we were getting back into the taxi we were approached and asked ..."Would you like some towels for the beach?" "What? Errmm... yes!" we replied a little shocked as 4 fluffy white towels were found for us.

This typifies our stay here....your every need was anticipated and fulfilled.

Breakfast was great and afternoon tea was a very nice way to round off the afternoon.

Thank you to all at Love Lane for a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 23 Love Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Love Lane

Address: 23 Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 Love Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23Lovelane Penang, A Heritage Boutique Hotel in George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your 23 Love Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Love Lane Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 23 Love Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.