We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roommates Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Roommates Penang to your Saves list
Roommates Penang
17 B Lorong Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night, overall is good. Room is simple and clean but still got area to improve some minor area easy be neglect. Lobby is comfortable, we spend most of the time at lobby. Staff is friendly, serve with smile. Door lock not that secure. Have to ensure the door is lock before leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    27
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
17
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KualaLumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Roommates has offered a great customer service that i ever had. We came in a group of 14. When i was making my booking, i did not mention of putting the females into the female dorms. But, roommates try to accommodate our request upon arrival. The location is good and it is 15 minutes walk from 1st avenue and komtar. The main street has alot of food hawkers during night time. 7-evelen is just 3 minutes away from the hostel. It is in the heart of georgetown and you may visit all wall paintings by walking. Simple breakfast is included with Rm 30 charge per bed. Overall, the great service was offered by Mr teoh and Roommates

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staying at Roommates was a great experience. It was one of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed at. The staff was friendly and helpful, giving me a full run down of what buses to take to various locations on the island. My girlfriend and I ended up moving to a guesthouse that offered private rooms our second night, and we wish we had have remained at Roommates, as the guesthouse did not have the same facilities or atmosphere as Roommates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Met some awesome people here. Accidentally booked 4bed male dorm, and apparently that is the "Roommies" annex across the way! Turns out the Roommates one is bigger and nicer! I love it here. Other reviews said bed bugs, haven't had a single problem. Easy access to the entire city and transit system as well. Staff is very knowledgeable although half the time we cant understand them, oh well, my fault, I don't speak their language as I am in their country!

Room Tip: Book the 8 bed mixed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile


This hostel was a bit out of our budget (RM28 p/bed) but we ended up staying longer than expected because of the fantastic staff and service. The hostel itself is super clean - amazing showers! The breakfast is basic, but with the amount you eat in Penang you don't want much breakfast anyway.
The staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and give you a glimpse into the local side of Georgetown. We went on the free street food tour with Yen and it was a lot of fun! We also ended up staying at the Roomies in Batu Ferrenghi for 2 nights and Yen gave us a lift there with a stop along the way for some local pastries.

I would definitely recommend room mates if you're looking for a good, central, friendly spot in Georgetown. Don't be deterred by the price - it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is one of the nicest hostels where I have ever stayed. First of all it is small. The hostel has only 2 dorms with each 4 bunk beds. The bunk beds are perfect. They are big, The mattresses are good and all beds have sockets, a lamp and a curtain for privacy. Disadvantage is that the curtains made it hard for the AC to get through. But then, it is a dorm and a curtain is a luxury. I just open them a bit. So no complains about that. :)
Because the hostel is so small, it gives you a really cozy feeling and the idea you know everyone.
There is a free (simple) breakfast in the morning. Just bread/toast with boiled eggs or jam and coffee or tea. The hostel is clean, the staff is great and the location is perfect. The Wi-Fi is quick, only sometimes they needed to reset it. Which can be annoying, but it is just internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed there for 1 night. I was travelling solo, but I haven't been alone at all! The staff is really friendly, helpful, and the guest were really nice!
They have 2 hostels, 20 meters away each other. I have been on the second one, who is not this one on the pictures (please staff put some picture from the extension!). But still great. Breakfast is included. Wifi wasn't good working, they had to reboot the router. but the morning I had the same problem, so If I can say only one thing bad about this hostel, is just the unstable Wifi!
But anyway, this hostel worths the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roommates Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roommates Penang

Address: 17 B Lorong Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHO ARE WE and WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN STAYING WITH US??*18 century straits eclectic pre war shoplot - YES!*Experience staying in a classic heritage shop in Penang - YES!*Clean and comfortable- YES! *The place is so new you can even smell the paint- YES!*Guaranteed the Funnest guesthouse on the island- SOOO YES!*Value for money- YES!*So near to the heritage attractions, you can see it- YES!*So near to Penang Hawker food, you can smell it- YES!*SUPER Easy to get here by bus- YES! YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!! :D We hope to having and seeing you real soon!Roommates Penang Guesthouse is housed in an 18th century refurbished ‘Straits Eclectic’ prewar shop lot centrally located within the core Heritage Zone of Georgetown, Penang. We are within walking distance to famous hawker food stalls like Chulia Street, Kimberly Street, shopping malls like Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue as well as morning markets like Chowrasta Market. All the ‘MUST SEE’ Heritage attractions within Penang are located around the guesthouse and can be easily explored by foot or by bicycle. We also offer bicycles for rent for the convenience of our guests. Roommates Penang is definitely the ‘smallest’, ‘newest’ and ‘funnest’ (we made this word up!) guesthouse on the island. Although the exterior and certain sections of the guesthouse still retains its prewar features, we did cracked our brains to come up with a simplistic yet modern interior so that you can fully enjoy an open concept guesthouse that only has a land space of 530 ft2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Roommates Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roommates Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roommates Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.