We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest staff ever, so nice and cosy guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roommates Penang

Save Saved
You added Roommates Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roommates Penang
17 B Lorong Chulia, Georgetown, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coolest staff ever, so nice and cosy guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We arrived at Penang, were looking for a guesthouse, most of them were either full or highly overpriced. Then, ended up in this guesthouse, kind of dormitory. Wow, what a wonderful surprise. The place is wonderful, eery thing is new, very clean, very cosy. Staff is really friendly. I would definitely recommend it, best dormitory ever as far as I can say, cause my friends and I visited many others before staying there. AWESOME.
There are only 8 beds, so big groups will probably not find enough place for everybody.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
16
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hostel behind the lorong love street is a hidden gem.
Nice staff, clean, and hot shower (of course wifi in rooms as well)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stumbled upon this guesthouse when it was recommended over to me by a guy i met at the restaurant.
This place was new and didn't have any signboards put up.
The place was really nice and cosy.
I loved the fact that they managed to restore the shop lot to its original heritage facade. Everything was timber and even the tea/coffee served in the morning was antique. Lovely!
I had my first hot shower in Asia here! :D oh and the beds were really clean.

I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends!
I ended up staying a whole week there,

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms and i think one of them is a premier room and another is standard. The lady a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

The most accommodating host(s) ... EVER! Showed me the great places for food as well as well worth visiting places. Georgetown is indeed full of history and Roommates is right in the middle.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roommates Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roommates Penang

Address: 17 B Lorong Chulia, Georgetown, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHO ARE WE and WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN STAYING WITH US??*18 century straits eclectic pre war shoplot - YES!*Experience staying in a classic heritage shop in Penang - YES!*Clean and comfortable- YES! *The place is so new you can even smell the paint- YES!*Guaranteed the Funnest guesthouse on the island- SOOO YES!*Value for money- YES!*So near to the heritage attractions, you can see it- YES!*So near to Penang Hawker food, you can smell it- YES!*SUPER Easy to get here by bus- YES! YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!! :D We hope to having and seeing you real soon!Roommates Penang Guesthouse is housed in an 18th century refurbished ‘Straits Eclectic’ prewar shop lot centrally located within the core Heritage Zone of Georgetown, Penang. We are within walking distance to famous hawker food stalls like Chulia Street, Kimberly Street, shopping malls like Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue as well as morning markets like Chowrasta Market. All the ‘MUST SEE’ Heritage attractions within Penang are located around the guesthouse and can be easily explored by foot or by bicycle. We also offer bicycles for rent for the convenience of our guests. Roommates Penang is definitely the ‘smallest’, ‘newest’ and ‘funnest’ (we made this word up!) guesthouse on the island. Although the exterior and certain sections of the guesthouse still retains its prewar features, we did cracked our brains to come up with a simplistic yet modern interior so that you can fully enjoy an open concept guesthouse that only has a land space of 530 ft2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Roommates Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roommates Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roommates Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.