We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time..worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee Atelier

Save Saved
You added Coffee Atelier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coffee Atelier
47 - 55 Lorong Stewart,, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A step back in time..worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is situated in the heart of the town, a short walk from Little India and 'Chinatown', amidst budget/back packers accomodation. Having said that it is postioned perfectly, tucked away from the main traffic area which allows you to sit outside on the verandah and relax without constant cars or people passing. Being in the budget area of town has it's advantages in that cheap internet cafes are available, average charge of 1 MYR for 20 mins aswell as laundry facilities and food/fresh fruit stalls. You can easily walk from the hotel to Peranakan House Museum, Penang Museum, a variety of temples and the main bus station. Buses are clean, cheap and plentiful. For longer journeys taxi's are cheap and the hotel staff will book them for you if you wish. Rickshaws are always hovering about too.
We stayed in a double suite, 47A - on the bottom floor. It was lovely, it had it's own little hallway which led to the upper room and our room. The room was furnished with beautiful pieces of Asian antique furniture as well as a modern TV, aircon, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities. The large, quirky bathroom area provided a good shower, washbasin & loo, as well as a sitting area for tea/coffee etc - it backed onto the street and you could hear people going about their daily business.
The owners make you feel very welcome and clearly love their business; the staff are great, a small team that get to know you and will accomodate pretty much any request, always greeting you with a smile.
The verandah is a pleasant spot to relax with afternoon tea or evening drinks, the fresh sangria was particularly nice! Apart from breakfast (included) we didn't eat at the hotel as their were numerous great value and delicious eateries all around Georgetown, however the restaurant appeared to be very popular and was busy most lunch/evening times. The menu choices looked great, and although pricey looked like they were worth it. We had the set breakfast as it was included in the price of our stay, it was good but certain areas were better than others - you only get one very small glass of orange juice (no top up), bacon and eggs always great, only one slice of toast or four tiny bits of baguette.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Bang in the heart of historic Georgetown and within walking distance from all the must-sees, Coffee Atelier is an ideal choice for independent travellers who prefer living in a restored shophouse over holidaying in a chain hotel. With only four beautifully designed units, guests really feel like inhabiting a Peranakan museum, a luxurious step back in time.

We booked 49B on the first (upper) floor and wow, the master bedroom was spacious, spotlessly clean, decorated with Chinese antiques and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. Although facing Lorong Stewart and the adjacent Seven Terraces (#1 on Tripadvisor at the time of writing), it wasn't very noisy but light sleepers might consider sleeping in the small bedroom, in our opinion dark and dingy like slave quarters. The bathroom was open so its door needed to be shut to prevent mozzies from coming in.

Perhaps what we liked least about this boutique hotel was its scanty breakfast. Luckily Georgetown is known for its cuisine so we grabbed dim sum and half-boiled egg for breakfast elsewhere. This is not to say the on-site 55 Café was disappointing. Its Mediterranean-inspired dishes, served in tapas portions, were all excellent. Don't forget to save room for desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has 4 rooms only, in renovated house. Its architecture is very typical for the town, I felt like I was in the past, but I had all contemporaty conveniences. Hotel is close to the Chinatown as well as to the Indian quarter, but the surroundings of the hotel is not in a good condition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hi, my wife and I and our two little kids (4 and 2) stayed here in April 2013. We were in 49B. Loved the place. its on the upper floor and is quite spacious - with a large bedroom with a king size bed and a much smaller one with a single bed and a common bathroom. The larger bedroom opens out on to the street, but not much noise as the street is not a busy one. Lots of character, well maintained. There is a decent restaurant on the premises if you dont want to venture out. Restaurants are however a bit of a walk or cab ride from here and there arent too many in the immediate vicinity. Dont stay here if you are looking for a regular hotel experience with room service etc. But if you want something a little different, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I highly raccommend a visit to this Small Cafe' with an Art centre attached to it in the heart of colonial Gergetown. I like the way they make you feel like home. Food is very nice. Don't miss the Shellfish. And the creme brulee! You can buy a bottle of wine and save it for the next day. And the owners are very friendly and interesting people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm just back from my trip in Malaysia, visited Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Langkawi.

Coffee Atelier is located right on the edge of little India in Georgetown. It takes about 30 minutes by cab from the airport. CA is not just another hotel, it's an experience ! When we arrived we were greeted by Stefan the owner who put all his passion and dedication into his little Guesthouse, and we could feel, right from the beginning that CA is a home away from home. Stefan collects art pieces , pictures and old furnitures, CA is also a museum. Very much for Guests that look out of the box and tired to stay in those regular hotels...

We stayed with 3 people in flat number 49 at first floor. I couldn't believe my eyes when we opened the door...everything was so unique here...the old wooden floors, the colorfu door and window frames, little cupboards....the master bedroom was huge and the bed very comfortable. The smaller room with single bed was perfect. High ceilings, good air condition and fans...absolutely clean. The little details were amazing. I.e soap was tea tree soap and shampoo was locally made. The bathroom was outdoors on a sort of balcony...amazing experience :) :) wifi speed was ok.

We could easily walk from CA to all spots in Georgetown. Stefan always took his time to explain and recommend things, he truly walked the extra mile for us.

There is just one little thing I have to write : our room (440 ringgit, which is quiet expensive for Malaysia) was included with breakfast. Unfortunately we had to leave at 7:45 am, and breakfast starts at 8:30 am...it would have been nice just to prepare a little take away box for us to take on the ferry, as we actually paid for breakfast..

We had such an amazing stay at CA, and we thank the owner for the experience living in a masterpiece of art :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Tobi,

Thank you for your nice review - I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also "thank you" for your comment regarding breakfast when early check-out. We are now offering a breakfast which our guests can take in their room. Our guests can inform us what they would like for BF and we will stock the fridge accordingly. Tea and coffee facilities are already in the rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us!

With best wishes

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Coffee Atelier offers the perfect experience for anyone looking for a historical Penang experience. The rooms are modernized just enough to be very comfortable and still retain old world charm. The location is great, right in the heart of old Georgetown, and set back from the main thoroughfares. Great restaurants, bars, and shops all near by. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff and owners. Recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/Georgetown
Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart,, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.