We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coffee Atelier to your Saves list
Coffee Atelier
47 - 55 Lorong Stewart,, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm just back from my trip in Malaysia, visited Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Langkawi.

Coffee Atelier is located right on the edge of little India in Georgetown. It takes about 30 minutes by cab from the airport. CA is not just another hotel, it's an experience ! When we arrived we were greeted by Stefan the owner who put all his passion and dedication into his little Guesthouse, and we could feel, right from the beginning that CA is a home away from home. Stefan collects art pieces , pictures and old furnitures, CA is also a museum. Very much for Guests that look out of the box and tired to stay in those regular hotels...

We stayed with 3 people in flat number 49 at first floor. I couldn't believe my eyes when we opened the door...everything was so unique here...the old wooden floors, the colorfu door and window frames, little cupboards....the master bedroom was huge and the bed very comfortable. The smaller room with single bed was perfect. High ceilings, good air condition and fans...absolutely clean. The little details were amazing. I.e soap was tea tree soap and shampoo was locally made. The bathroom was outdoors on a sort of balcony...amazing experience :) :) wifi speed was ok.

We could easily walk from CA to all spots in Georgetown. Stefan always took his time to explain and recommend things, he truly walked the extra mile for us.

There is just one little thing I have to write : our room (440 ringgit, which is quiet expensive for Malaysia) was included with breakfast. Unfortunately we had to leave at 7:45 am, and breakfast starts at 8:30 am...it would have been nice just to prepare a little take away box for us to take on the ferry, as we actually paid for breakfast..

We had such an amazing stay at CA, and we thank the owner for the experience living in a masterpiece of art :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Tobi,

Thank you for your nice review - I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also "thank you" for your comment regarding breakfast when early check-out. We are now offering a breakfast which our guests can take in their room. Our guests can inform us what they would like for BF and we will stock the fridge accordingly. Tea and coffee facilities are already in the rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us!

With best wishes

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
32
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Coffee Atelier offers the perfect experience for anyone looking for a historical Penang experience. The rooms are modernized just enough to be very comfortable and still retain old world charm. The location is great, right in the heart of old Georgetown, and set back from the main thoroughfares. Great restaurants, bars, and shops all near by. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff and owners. Recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel right smack dab in the middle of the George Town, in the old colonial district right smack dab in the Unesco World Heritage Site. It's just a couple of blocks from the Kwan Yin temple and from Little India. There are four rooms, each very distinctive and decorated beautifully by the owners. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great with a wonderful shower. We even had an extra little room where we could store our luggage. The hotel was opened just a couple of years ago and was originally an old coffee roasting factory. Some of the old coffee roasting equipment is still there in a small museum you can visit. Needless to say, the coffee served here is fantastic, especially the local kind of coffee, which is roasted with butter, sesame seeds and salt. They also have a small restaurant where you get a very hearty breakfast that is included with your room. I loved this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is an amazing nice old building and re-done in a proper way. With only 4 rooms it gives you the feeling of stepping back in history but with modern facilities like aircon, hot shower and wifi connection. My room was a suite on the ground floor and after entering a common hall, used by guests of another room there were 4 more areas to go. The biggest of them is the bathroom which also has the function of sitting area with some chairs and a table. The old building is extremely noisy so every step of your (upper floor) neighbour will be heard and the noise from outside can be quite annoying as well at certain times of the day. Every time I go to Penang and stay overnight I will try one of those heritage places and this has been the most disappointing one so far for many reasons. The wifi connection is extremely slow, the cabinet is not suitable for hanging your clothes as it has strange measurements and I even found a bra of a former guest inside. The breakfast is served with minimum portions, tasteless jam, chewy bread (including chewy croissant) and they were not able to serve any cheese. I took a glass of wine at the end of the day on their terrace and the first glass was overdue and the second glass (new bottle) was also not nice and next to my table other guests were drinking beer and they brought a lot of outside food to their table and the staff even brought them plates and bowls to eat this all; I really felt like sitting in a cheap hamburger restaurant instead of a proper establishment and it was not inviting me in any way to try more of their menu. Upon checking out a Chinese looking lady took my complaints and I left my business card so she could get back to me, which still did not happen after more than 2 weeks. This place can be a nice little gem but is in desperate need of proper management that is able to train the staff in all fields. Until that time I strongly recommend you to try one of the many other nice heritage places in the same area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Manager at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you liked our place and I am sorry that we couldn’t meet your expectations.

Regarding your various points:
- staff: We are continuously training our staff and in general we are receiving very good feedbacks (please also see comments on agoda.com). However, we are in a “people-business” and sometimes things go wrong – for which we only can apologies and try to improve.
- Noise: You are right, our place is a bit noisier than a brand new hotel. A “soft renovation” has been made, without pulling out walls and floors and ceilings and destroying a beautiful old building. Only this way you can have a feel how it was living in an old shop house. So far we received very few complaints regarding noise and therefore we will not change/make a full renovation.
- WiFi: Usually our WiFi works very well. However, every now and than we have problems which are out of our control. We than have to contact Telekom Malaysia in order to have it solved. This was the case when you stayed with us.
- Breakfast: Thank you for this feed-back. In the meantime we changed our offer and basically you can order what you like. The jam we make ourselves and usually our guests like it a lot – but than this is a question of taste which varies from person to person.
- Housewine: Apologies if we should have served you an old wine. In general we receive a lot of compliments for your house wine and it is our most sold wine – but again, this is a question of taste which varies from person to person. In any case, we didn’t charge you the wines – neither the “overdue” one and nor the “new” one.
- Outside food: The people were our hotel guests and we felt it was OK that they can bring some of their food and eat outside.
- I got back to you personally on Jan. 22. I sent the mail to anne@langkawi-nature.com and didn’t receive any rejection message.

Stefan Gehrig
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quedlinburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This special place in the middle of the heart of Georgetown is not easy to find and somehow not easy to reach but if you have once been there you won't easily leave it.

It does not matter how you call it even though it is classified as boutique hotel. The rooms a built in four shop houses which are besides each other. Lovely rennovated with every room in a different style and a high attention to detail. A small gallery and a nice cozy restaurant belong to the hotel as well. The hotel is managed by a lovely swiss/hongkong chinese couple with great passion and always the view for a customer. This is even more to highlight as both do not have any background on hospitality...and this makes the different. Its not business ...it passion by heart.

The restaurant is another oasis you hardly find in Malaysia and maybe not even often in Asia. You can have a good breakfast with all you need, a simple straight but super tasty lunch...but the best of all is the "Tapas Style" menu. You have a choice of over 50 dishes...and actually you dont know what to choose first. Whatever I have tried it was just simply "yummy"... great braised beef cheek, sizzling prawns, tasty grilled eggplant, flavorfull grilled pork ribs, teriyaki salmon or or or... I make it simple go there and eat and you know what I mean. You can combine the great food with a nice bottle of wine. They do have a fair selection of international wines (try the spanish) and super fair priced.

I can only recommend the place go to Lorong Stewart, sit outside in one of the Rattan Chairs and enjoy Penang life... you will surely miss something if you dont try it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

at coffee atelier, i love that i get to live like the locals do in georgetown. it's like staying in an old house with attention to modern detail such as the dvd player, gryphon tea satchets and the toilet + shower area. i stayed in the ground suite with a courtyard. the suite has retained a lot of the old penang charm, which provides a much different holiday experience as compared to staying in a proper hotel. location is great and close to many attractions. staff were very friendly and helpful as well!

Room Tip: ground floor suites come with courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great boutique hotel with excellent location and friendly staff/owners Our family stayed for 3 nights and we had a whole house for ourselves (ground floor for parents, 1st floor for our 3 kids).The owners (a Hong Kong and Swiss couple) renovatedthe whole building in a “soft” way. You can still experience the “old feel” and charmof a bygone area, without missing modern amenities like AC,TV, Shower, WiFi etc.The suites were nicely furnished and we felt like living in an old Chinese Shophouse. If you would liketo stay in a heritage boutique hotel -this is your choice. We foundthe location right inthe middleofthe GeorgeTown’s historic Heritage Zone just perfect. All majortourist attractions are within easy walking distance. Intheir adjoining restaurant they are serving delicious coffees and excellent food (tapas). Our kids just lovedtheir desserts! The owner andthe staff were very personal and helpful and always hadtime for a chat.They helped usto organize a fewtrips andtheir recommendations were just perfect. We would definitely staythere again and can highly recommendthe placeto anytraveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart,, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.