We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional dim sum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Tai Tong Dim Sum Restaurant

De Tai Tong Dim Sum Restaurant
45 Cintra street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
04-2636625
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Tel: 04-263 6625
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good traditional dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food...from the number of locals who patronise the restaurant, one will know that it is good! Have been to a lot of dim sum places so the most unique offering from De Tai Tong was the lotus paste bun (the pastry was soft and the filling was moist and not too sweet)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    30
    37
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for chinese and dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went there for lunch. Unfortunately they don´t serve dim sum mid-day, but we got some great tasting chinese food instead. The old ladys that serve the tables are quite charming in their own way. Good value for money as well, and we will come back here another day for dim sum now that we now when to come. It´s served from 6.30 am to 11.45 am, and from 6.30 pm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I came here for dim sum breakfast with my friend. It's crowded but definitely worth the effort. Food carts fly all over the place and when you sit down you get swamped by them so you must not dilly dally!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Aunties on speed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We first ate here when we stumbled upon it during the New Year period, as there were not many restaurants open. We came to eat here again on our last night in Penang.

Firstly, most customers seem to order the crispy fried noodles, with dim sum as side-dishes. On our first visit, we ordered two different noodle dishes but they turned out to be cooked the same style in the same type of eggy gravy. Never mind, they were tasty, washed down with the very dark, bitter Chinese house tea.

On our second visit, we were hungrier and ordered mixed lohan vegetables, pork and fish dishes. When we were told that the pork with black bean sauce had finished, we thought this was very strange - are the dishes pre-cooked? Just like the noodles which had been cooked in the same gravy, the mixed lohan vegetables and the fish also seemed to have been cooked in the same gravy!

So maybe the chefs only know how to make one type of gravy only, no matter what you order. Maybe that explains the popularity of the crispy fried noodles.

What is good about this restaurant is that it is big enough to accommodate any number of diners as they turn over quickly. So be sure to order the crispy noodles; the Kai-Lan (Chinese broccoli) is also very tasty.

No matter, we were amused watching the 60-something year-old aunties taking orders, serving and clearing dishes, pushing the dim-sum carts around. They were cheerful, helpful and so s-p-e-e-d-y! McDonald's, eat your heart out!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
““Fabulous””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

‘De Tai Tong’ Restaurant is a Fantastic Dim Sum Restaurant which is not to be missed on the corner of Cintra Street & Chulia Street.
It was an experience to see the elderly waitresses pushing their carts up and down the aisle stopping at each table offering hot steamed dim sum from one cart; porridge from another; deep fried stuff and more. They are so friendly and will try to insist that you try almost everything.
We also tried their Crispy Fried Noodle with Mixed gravy and their specialty “Red and Green Chili Chicken” with steam rice for lunch on the next day, which was also wonderful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Tai Tong Dim Sum Restaurant also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island

Been to De Tai Tong Dim Sum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Tai Tong Dim Sum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.