We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good- choice of three, cooked onsite.The bed was big and comfortable, would recommend staying here. Restaurant has good food, professional staff. I really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Deluxcious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and my sister stayed at this hotel from 8th-11th August 2013, we had booked in advance and made sure we got rooms with our own bathrooms. Whilst our two rooms were located up small stairs, it was like having our own area of the hotel. I was very impressed with the service from the front desk. All staff members were very polite, spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful with all our requests. It was walking distance to interesting sites, (food etc). The Spa was fantastic and the hotel gave a discount to use their spa. We didn't expect much for breakfast, but were pleasantly surprised that the breakfast included eggs, small amount of beans, chicken sausage and toast. So a bit better than just toast, which was what we were expecting. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The first impression of the hotel was "yes I didn't make a mistake with this one". Most times, with heritage hotels, you'll find it's just some old building refurbished with minimal facilities. But Deluxcious, surprises with its clean and well appointed rooms.
Beds are comfortable, bathroom is large and water pressure good.
Lots of intimate corners for conversation and an outdoor sitting area for a relaxing evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rating of the hotel is crossed. From the outside the hotel is very attractive and well located, right at the entrance to the old town. The free internet is very fast and runs reliably. The staff was very helpful. The only negative was that I am the lady in the check-in said that it gives me an upgrade. Although the room although large, but had no window. To accept an upgrade to room 106! To comfort, it was ok, but the bathroom area was not very clean. In addition, the safe did not work.

Is still the beautiful garden, otherwise it does not have much, no swimming pools or fitness center.

I probably would not choose this hotel again, even if it is from the price very attractive. Rather pay a little more for it and go to the trader.

Room Tip: Not room 106. Has no window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice to see but services are to be improved: poor breakfast and to be chosen the day before. Shoes to be' left in the lobby is not nice. The workers sleep around in the chair. The position is good because very close to the old city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I cannot begin to describe my stay out here. Firstly I was travelling solo in Malaysia and I chose this hotel since it was centrally located in georgetown and because it is a Heritage Hotel and this is a 100 year old building and the beauty in Penang lies in its history and culture and this hotel does full justice )
The one person who helped me the most since I had nothing mapped out was the Director of the hotel herself, Miranda Khoo. As she learnt I was travelling solo and looking at me struggling with the map she just planned my entire out. She was so helpful and friendly so was her husband who is also running this place. Amazing hospitality, every guest gets a 30 minute free massage and there is free wifi which is a necessity especially when you are travelling. Loved the roti Canai for breakfast Chaudhary who was from housekeeping was also so so helpful. This hotel is so tastefully done up, it has a mind blowing restaurant where I ate the last night ( superb selection with live oysters) I had a superb stay and recommend this place to all people visiting Penang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Overall the hotel gives a heritage feel and I have to say the owner did a good job on reviving the building and its surrounding. However I'm quite disappointed with the service level due to shortage of staff. There are only 2 staff in charge for breakfast in which 1 of them also takes care of housekeeping.

Please do not bother about breakfast. Waited almost 30mins for pre-cook food and taste was just average. Room sound proofing is poor. You could here foot steps above and noises outside as I stayed on the ground floor. So if privacy if top priority, then this may not be the place for you.

Generally, if you wish to stay in a heritage hotel, this hotel is ok compare to others. Otherwise, there are many other selections for your consideration around Penang town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Address: 15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.