We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is situated in a beautiful restored mansion only to be tainted with a large neon sign naming the hotel. Rooms are nice and spacey with plenty of daylight coming in. The bed is comfortable. Service is mediocre. There is no elevator to the second floor and no one offers any help with carrying your luggage up. The biggest downturn was breakfast which only consisted of 3 options: nasi lemak, roti or plain toast. All the choices were less than mediocre. Hawker stall offer better food. All the while the hotel's restaurant boasts deluxe buffet options, but only for lunch and dinner at an additional charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quedlinburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been there with a friend for a short trip. Overall, everything was satisfying. The rooms are small and dark. There is just a small window in the bathroom. The bathroom was clean even though one wall was slightly mouldy. If you want to take a shower dont forget to switch on the hearter before otherwise the water might be cold.

The bed was great to sleep in and the all other furnitures were in good condidtion. As we have been out until late night, we did not realize that the rooms were noisy. Only the morning after we realized that you can hear almost everything from the outside.

The breakfast was to forget about. I still expect a nice decent small buffet if I serve a breakfast in a boutique hotel and not only toast and jam. and eggs.

The building is lovely and i am sure that you can do more out of it... I hope the owner will! As long you get a good rate...(we paid S$70) ... you can not be disappointed but dont pay much more...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Deluxcious Hotel (how do you pronounce this anyway - no one seemed to understand it) is a tale of two cities - beautiful property very nicely decorated and good location, but couldn't quite deliver on the service. At check-in we were told we had been 'upgraded' to a larger room but it was in the lobby just opposite the front desk, so was noisy and the lights shone through the stained glass which surrounded the door frame. They offered free welcome drink coupons but didn't specify for what, so when we ordered beers we ended up having to pay as they only provide free fruit juice. The breakfast was the biggest disappointment - they had only 2 choices (a Malaysian offering of rice and dried fish or an Indian-ish sambar with bread) or you could have white toast. The creamer for the coffee was powdered, and the orange juice was so watered down. They bill themselves as luxury but the breakfast was far from it. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the photos of the buffet lunch and dinner looked really extensive. The spa was nice, although seemed a bit pricey (we had just come from Bali so maybe our price expectations were a bit off as they are so low there). Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. We loved George Town so that elevated the whole experience, plus we got a great rate on Hotels.com so it seemed a better value.

Room Tip: avoid rooms off the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is exactly the same with pictures,our room was located right on the corner nearby the garden.
The room and the bathroom were nice for such prices.
The lady in the receptionist was helpful. the restaurant also nice.
the only thing that i didnt like was the taxi ..agreed with 'thy3nn".when u booked from hotel,they will charge you whatever they want ( our flight was early morning" 6 am in the morning",and the taxi driver simply charged double price with a reason " bcos this is early in the morning").we will absolutely stay in this hotel on our next trip but will be aware with the taxi

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First initial thought of the hotel: beautifully decorated and very clean. We stayed in the room right next door to the reception (number 105 i think.. something like that). Our room was kinda small but it was big enough for 2 people and there are no windows except for the little one in the bathroom. Beds and Pillows are very soft and comfortable..The bathroom is sooo nice, clean and big!! The best part is the shower, it is sooo spacious and the shower head is so awesome. We didn't eat breakfast as we knew it would be only toast and baked beans etc. The hotel is very small and quiet...soooo quiet that you can everything that's going on.. especially at night. We could hear people talking in the lobby late at night and i don't blame those people, you can't stop them from talking. The hotel location is not convenient and secluded. Taxis are a pain because the drivers in Penang don't use meters so they charge you whatever. We tried negotiating the taxi fares but half the time you have to give in and accept it because "they don't make enough money". DON'T get the staff to call a taxi for you, the lady will rip you off also. You're better off hailing one on the rd..even though it requires more effort and time at least you can try to haggle the ridiculous prices they say. In conclusion, we will not be staying at this hotel ever again if we visit Penang. Yes, the hotel is pretty and all but trust me, there are plenty of other better hotels to stay at in Penang so please avoid this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Deluxcious Heritage Hotel is a small yet beautiful and chic hotel. The room is clean and the bathroom is really big. Besides that, ithe location is quite strategic. However, you can hear people who talk outside your room and there is no room cleaning service available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

What an awful Hotel. Honestly the beautiful renovated building is forgotten as soon as you walk into your room. You can hear every single thing that happens in this house. Every single step and word. It is also impossible to get a dark room. There is so much light coming through the door!!!! The Restaurant is bloody awfull with service and my husband was sick for two days after eating there. We booked out three days before we had to and gladly wasted money by booking into another hotel. Do not make the same mistake, there is a large variety of Hotels in the nearby area - rather make use of them.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Address: 15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.