We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Deluxcious Heritage Hotel is a small yet beautiful and chic hotel. The room is clean and the bathroom is really big. Besides that, ithe location is quite strategic. However, you can hear people who talk outside your room and there is no room cleaning service available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

What an awful Hotel. Honestly the beautiful renovated building is forgotten as soon as you walk into your room. You can hear every single thing that happens in this house. Every single step and word. It is also impossible to get a dark room. There is so much light coming through the door!!!! The Restaurant is bloody awfull with service and my husband was sick for two days after eating there. We booked out three days before we had to and gladly wasted money by booking into another hotel. Do not make the same mistake, there is a large variety of Hotels in the nearby area - rather make use of them.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this charming "heritage" hotel and had a lovely room with a large bathroom, and direct access to the garden. The restaurant (no outside sitting) as well as the spa (massage and candling ear) were OK. BUT the English breakfast (served in the garden) was really a pity - not to say awful - for this category of hotel (cold baked beans and sausage, no fruit nor fresh fruit juice, no jam).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I did extensive research on tripadvisor prior to booking a place in Georgetown, but still, i failed myself :( DISAPPOINTED. Will NEVER ever return to this place. My 'once-a-year' trip to Georgetown has been ruined because of this place. Other than that, i love Penang, especially the little cafes that serves coffee from freshly roasted beans and of course, the food here.

By first impression, I fell in love with the building. Exactly what i expected from a heritage building. Love the cosiness. Bed and toilet were all beautifully kept and cleaned. Despite the heritage status of the building, the interior is beautifully and modernly designed and furnished. Reminiscence of historical architecture and interior deco can still be seen.

I should also mention that the FREE WiFi connection was great! Nice addition folks!!

NIGHTMARE starts once the closed of your room door and after settling down. You could hear EVERY SINGLE word spoken outside the room. Each engine ROAR, SIRENS and car HORNS from the road adjacent to the hotel's carpark can be heard clearly. Footsteps from outside the room can be heard coming from all directions. At one point, I just had to stop myself from counting how many pair of sneakers, heels, or sandals that were making those footsteps. Went to bed at 1130pm, and the last time i remember looking at the clock to check the time after being woken up by the noises, all stressed up and agitated, was freaking 3am.

If you are someone that is planning for big nights every night in Georgetown and returning to sleep while feeling wasted, ignore the negative part of my review. I came back to the hotel one night wasted, and i couldn't remember what time i fell asleep. In fact, i couldn't remember how i got back to the room too.

That being said, what is stopping you from trying out some other hotels and posting your review about your stay here for the benefit of all other trip advisor visitors?

Room Tip: Call and mention that you are a light sleeper (even if you aren't) and ask for a room that is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It cost RM44.8 to take taxi from airport to hotel, and around 15 min walking distance from hotel to Komtar.

The standard room is without window and a bit noise... I even can hear the sound of taking shower from the next room. And the shower water is cold in the morning...

The hotel is generally clean, but still can see some ants on the table and plates... I saw a dead ant in my cup after finish coffee!

The same breakfast is for all 3 days stay...toast and coffee...

The bus driver hotel recommended is so unreliable... When I asked about the route from Hotel to Sungai Nibong Bus Station, and the hotel staff initiatively recommended this bus driver.... They said he is very nice and accountable... But it is NOT TRUE!!!

The fare from Penang to Terengganu is RM46, but the bus driver asked for RM75. And I told him I need to get to Shahbandar Jetty or Terengganu bus station. His bus only reach Merang. He lied to me that they are some place!! Even though, I called my hotel in Terengganu to confim the stop and his boss also confirmed they are different, he still insist that they are some place... The hotel staff in Terengganu also said the bus driver LIED TO YOU!!!

No idea on his action... and very terrible service... he shouted at me!! maybe he saw I am solo and female traveler...

When I departed, I asked hotel help call taxi to send me to Sungai Nibong Bus Terminal. They said Yes, but no Taxi, they have this bus driver again! The guy drove the private car, NOT Taxi. I think this guy has very close relationship with this hotel. But if I ask for taxi, and they said yes taxi too, why they arrange a private car and also this guy???

It is really terrible experience.... and will never ever choose this hotel!!

Room Tip: The standard room is without window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night instead of two. It was not to our taste, big room, but very poor wifi. Huge bathroom, with jacuzzi that didn't work properly. Nowhere to put towels near the bath.
Staff helpful but clueless.
Breakfast outside, practically in the road. Stewed coffee, like warm baked beans, rubbery scrambled egg..not my thing. Offerd voucher for spa, but didn't use.. Is it a spa, a restaurant or an hotel? They are muddled.
Maybe we hit it at a bad time.
Location good and bed very comfy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Have stayed in Traders in Penang but can honestly say this the stay in the Deluxcious was better, don’t let the name put you off, yes it sounds like a seedy place but it is far from it, the staff could not have been more helpful to say the least, the location was ideal for getting around the city, if I were to return to George Town I would have no hesitation to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang

Address: 15-17A, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.