We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your choice of bistro, bar, restaurant, art gallery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ChinaHouse

ChinaHouse
153-155 Beach Street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ChinaHouse has been opened for a few months now and is already a favourite among Penangites for a delicious meal in a great Chinese atmosphere.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Your choice of bistro, bar, restaurant, art gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Another funky establishment in Penang.

We had afternoon tea there. Cakes were pretty good. Service was not too fantastic. It was the first day of Chinese New Year and the place was packed! Cakes and coffee were served promptly but the cold drinks, which we desperately needed as it was a hot hot day, came 30 minutes later!

Overall, still a place to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    17
    23
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We like the dinner, wine list and atmosphere. The bar in the back is quite fun when there is live music.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had been told to go and try the cakes and we're glad we did. The food was great but I have never seen such an amazing selection of cakes anywhere. We tried three and they were all delicious. The building is amazing and it's in a great location so you can walk off some of the food later!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Funky refreshing cafe/bar/art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Refreshing modern funky spot not far from armenian street, great coffee and cake and home made ice cream. Upstairs is a art gallery, bfast, lunch and dinner also available, great place to have a break with western/eastern influence

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good for gathering with friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

good place and creative food . good for gathering with friend and alot corner to hang out . choices of cakes is huge .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChinaHouse also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to ChinaHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChinaHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.