We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Hotel to your Saves list
Super 8 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cheap and Spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a huge room with 2 queen size bed and a big toilet for Rm132.
If you have kids they would love this room.
It is situated near 1avenue and komtar. And you can walk around georgetown easily.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room is big enough for two, shower much much better than expected, actually is great! Pity there isn't a fridge. Aircon was functioning well so was the TV.
Location: walking distance to malls and eateries.
Problem: across the road, there is a house full of dogs and every morning there is painful howls coming from that house.
Reported noise to front desk but they simply don't care. Spoke to the owner of the dogs and again she ignored us.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It has spacious room,but no window,the cleanliness was great,it has small bathroom though.they provided coffee and tea in the room and water dispenser next to the elevator. The location is near from Komtar. I asked the receptionist for a cab to go to the airport and they gave me fixed amount to pay in front which was little bit more expensive than actual taximeter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My 2nd time visit Penang,also my 2nd time choose to book this hotel.Still comfortable,value for money! Keep it up! Very recommended to those coming to georgetown for holiday.But remember,u must have transport.If u just a walk backpackers,it may hard to u.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel situated near the heart of George Town. The room is clean and has the best strong showers (hot or cold) in town - very powerful - better than other more expensive hotels in town. Near a large shopping centre (GAMA) which supplies all your needs. Local food especially Indian and Chinese foods are nearby. Walking distance to Komptar the bus network center of Penang. The staff is very polite, helpful and efficient. The surrounding is in the older part of the city and there is noise from barking of dogs from opposite the hotel. For the price, this is worth it being close to transport and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher level facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friends and I just got back from a 3D-2N spontaneous trip to Penang. The hotel is definitely a value for money (we paid about RM 220 for 2 nights).

The room was spacious. It wasnt sound prove but we were too tired and fell asleep once we headed to bed, so it wasnt an issue for us. What we loved the most was the powerful shower head and spacious bathroom. Towel provided. After a whole day touring around the city, we were all sweaty and tired and that was exactly what all of us needed. Kudos to that! but personally I think the sink can be slightly cleaner.

Locality wise, it is near to 3 malls, and walking distance to the main bus station for both normal bus and penang CAT (komtar), so basically you can get to anywhere you want. We found the nicest local food at the nearby market upon arrival, at a walking distance. We also LOVE the cakes from Ms. Cake House, a small but yummy cake shop at Lebuh Presgrave (nearby the hotel), remember to try the green tea cake!

Wifi and water dispenser provided and receptionists were pretty friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lobby area was spacious. Reception wasn't very friendly. Parking was good. Not a busy area. Room was spacious. Very spacious. Astro and Free WiFi was provided. Very clean and comfortable room. There wasn't any windows though. Toilet was clean too. Three of us were glad we chose a hotel that was within our budget. Must have a car if you're staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Address: 81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.