We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need new towels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81, Tye Sin Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Need new towels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

For the price, everything is ok except the bath towel is bad. Brownish and not water absorbing. Feels like it has been soak in oil before or maybe it is not coton. I got a replacement towel and still the same problem. Hope the management will pay attention to this issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Recommended for those traveller travel with car at penang.
Room is big with clean and nice bathroom.
Pillow is small and not very comfy.I know this is not expensive hotel,but at least please give more comfort pillow to guest as pillow is one important part to make your guest happy while staying there.
Attention to the management,your bathroom water is a bit fluffy.I only shower for not more than 3 minutes then water start to reach my ankle.Hope u can fix this.
Parking lot is available.
No need to complain much as i think it's value for money we spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

we were given a 'cell' during our stay there.. there were no windows in our room. the sheets were smelly especially at the area where we rested our heads.
the toilets were clean though but you will need to bring ur own toiletries.
i wouldnt stay there if i can help it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staff is not friendly, some rooms do not have windows and the bed sheets were not very clean although the bathroom was clean and the shower was great! The Hotel is in a strange area and you should not walk around alone there after darkness especially not as a woman! It is about 20 min walking distance from all the sights and also from the main road where all the bars are.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with window and non smoking althoough i had the feeling that there was smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very good budget hotel, first of all I would like to say If I have a chance to visit penang in the future and if I need to saty in a budget hotel, I will choose Super 8 again. even though the hotel is not located in the heart of george town but near to komtar (strategic center in pennag), and also next to 3 Shopping Malls. Our room was clean, but not very clean, the shower and bath was very good. We had only two problems: 1. There was a strong smell of cigar smoke in the room, we tried our best to remove it with keeping the windows open and ... but ... 2. There was no slippers in the room, it was very bad at the beggining...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is very near to Komtar and the other mall.Its a walking distance, but not recommended to walk alone at night. Local food can be found near the hotel. We stay at the double room without window and its really a nightmare for us, because of the smoking smell from the previous guest. We stay there for 3nights, from first day until last day the smell is still there even we open the door also cannot help. We ask for room changed, but too bad all the room is fully booked.
If without the smoking smell this hotel can consider good, clean and nice with the affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Super 8 for two nights mid-May 2012, despite having booked a 6 night stay there. The room floors are brushed cement, furniture is chipped and otherwise damaged, and it features a "wet" bathroom, which means no shower stall. The pictures and description of the hotel on this and the Agoda website are at least misleading, if not fraudulent. It is nowhere near as clean, comfortable or well maintained as they let on.

Our second night there we were kept awake until 4:00 am by loud karaoke singing from inside the hotel, other drunk guests puking in the hallway, shouting, people in other rooms having loud sex, car alarms going off and dogs barking across the street. When we told the front desk we were leaving due to a horrible night of sleep and unacceptable conditions, they couldn't have cared less. We booked through Agoda, which meant they didn't have to give us a penny back, so why would they care about us?

We spent the rest of our trip at the Tune Hotel, which cost half as much ($16 per night if booked directly on their website, compared to $30 for the Super 8 booked via Agoda), was clean, quiet, and had a real bathroom with shower stall and actual floors instead of concrete. Avoid the Super 8 at all costs if you value your sanity and your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Address: 81, Tye Sin Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.