We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Hotel to your Saves list
Super 8 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“smelly beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

we were given a 'cell' during our stay there.. there were no windows in our room. the sheets were smelly especially at the area where we rested our heads.
the toilets were clean though but you will need to bring ur own toiletries.
i wouldnt stay there if i can help it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staff is not friendly, some rooms do not have windows and the bed sheets were not very clean although the bathroom was clean and the shower was great! The Hotel is in a strange area and you should not walk around alone there after darkness especially not as a woman! It is about 20 min walking distance from all the sights and also from the main road where all the bars are.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with window and non smoking althoough i had the feeling that there was smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very good budget hotel, first of all I would like to say If I have a chance to visit penang in the future and if I need to saty in a budget hotel, I will choose Super 8 again. even though the hotel is not located in the heart of george town but near to komtar (strategic center in pennag), and also next to 3 Shopping Malls. Our room was clean, but not very clean, the shower and bath was very good. We had only two problems: 1. There was a strong smell of cigar smoke in the room, we tried our best to remove it with keeping the windows open and ... but ... 2. There was no slippers in the room, it was very bad at the beggining...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is very near to Komtar and the other mall.Its a walking distance, but not recommended to walk alone at night. Local food can be found near the hotel. We stay at the double room without window and its really a nightmare for us, because of the smoking smell from the previous guest. We stay there for 3nights, from first day until last day the smell is still there even we open the door also cannot help. We ask for room changed, but too bad all the room is fully booked.
If without the smoking smell this hotel can consider good, clean and nice with the affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Super 8 for two nights mid-May 2012, despite having booked a 6 night stay there. The room floors are brushed cement, furniture is chipped and otherwise damaged, and it features a "wet" bathroom, which means no shower stall. The pictures and description of the hotel on this and the Agoda website are at least misleading, if not fraudulent. It is nowhere near as clean, comfortable or well maintained as they let on.

Our second night there we were kept awake until 4:00 am by loud karaoke singing from inside the hotel, other drunk guests puking in the hallway, shouting, people in other rooms having loud sex, car alarms going off and dogs barking across the street. When we told the front desk we were leaving due to a horrible night of sleep and unacceptable conditions, they couldn't have cared less. We booked through Agoda, which meant they didn't have to give us a penny back, so why would they care about us?

We spent the rest of our trip at the Tune Hotel, which cost half as much ($16 per night if booked directly on their website, compared to $30 for the Super 8 booked via Agoda), was clean, quiet, and had a real bathroom with shower stall and actual floors instead of concrete. Avoid the Super 8 at all costs if you value your sanity and your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is a newly built hotel. The location is not far from the Komtar building that become central to all bus stop. For Muslim visitors there are many halal restaurants who sold nasi kandar around the hotel. I booked a room for four people with a fairly cheap price. Room and bathroom was quite spacious and clean. They put a hot water dispenser next to the elevator on each floor. The unfortunate thing here is that most staff are less friendly and always put the sour-faced, unless there is a middle aged staff who helped us to book a taxi to the airport.
Near the the front desk there is a mini market which sells snacks, ice cream, and souvenirs with a more expensive price. better you walk 50 meters to other store that sell cheaper stuffs.

Room Tip: ask for the most distant room with night clubs, or your sleep will be disturbed noisy music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The title pretty much summarizes our stay. The family room that we were given was windowless, which was not really an issue considering we checked in very late and required a short overnight no frills stay, and that we had paid Rm118 for two queen beds.
Plus points:
- power shower
- decent sized ensuite
- rock hard beds to cure bad backs?
- cleanish rooms
- coffee sachets, soap etc
- fast check in
- on site parking
- controlled air con/fan

Minus points
- crappy singing and related acoustics from the karaoke joint downstairs pervaded the room until nearly 3am on a Tuesday nite!!! This completely ruined it for me.

The place is just 10minutes from Komtar and 1st Avenue shopping centre, and off many eatery joints etc, so is well placed for a short stay. However, I will try to stay elsewhere due to the bad sleep.
-

Room Tip: Get in early to get choice rooms, as its first come first serve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Address: 81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.