We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Sour-Faced Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Hotel to your Saves list
Super 8 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in George Town
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Price, Sour-Faced Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is a newly built hotel. The location is not far from the Komtar building that become central to all bus stop. For Muslim visitors there are many halal restaurants who sold nasi kandar around the hotel. I booked a room for four people with a fairly cheap price. Room and bathroom was quite spacious and clean. They put a hot water dispenser next to the elevator on each floor. The unfortunate thing here is that most staff are less friendly and always put the sour-faced, unless there is a middle aged staff who helped us to book a taxi to the airport.
Near the the front desk there is a mini market which sells snacks, ice cream, and souvenirs with a more expensive price. better you walk 50 meters to other store that sell cheaper stuffs.

Room Tip: ask for the most distant room with night clubs, or your sleep will be disturbed noisy music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The title pretty much summarizes our stay. The family room that we were given was windowless, which was not really an issue considering we checked in very late and required a short overnight no frills stay, and that we had paid Rm118 for two queen beds.
Plus points:
- power shower
- decent sized ensuite
- rock hard beds to cure bad backs?
- cleanish rooms
- coffee sachets, soap etc
- fast check in
- on site parking
- controlled air con/fan

Minus points
- crappy singing and related acoustics from the karaoke joint downstairs pervaded the room until nearly 3am on a Tuesday nite!!! This completely ruined it for me.

The place is just 10minutes from Komtar and 1st Avenue shopping centre, and off many eatery joints etc, so is well placed for a short stay. However, I will try to stay elsewhere due to the bad sleep.
-

Room Tip: Get in early to get choice rooms, as its first come first serve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a new hotel, room size is just right for two person.It has a LCD TV though not many channels, fantastic shower and very firm bed.Very clean environment. Also, there is a cafe next to it. It serves simple breakfast and meals.Very near to bus station and shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Thanks the helpful receptionist to let us check-in around 12 noon. Our room is big, clean & with window. Easy to get food nearby & walking distance to Komtar in 5-10 mins.
No hair-dryer in the room, need to request from reception.
All in all, we have a good night sleep there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeuthen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

You'll get very good value for money. Features: good amenities, just 5 min. walk to Komtar complex (Shopping Mall, Central bus station, free shuttle bus to downtown), nice and helpful people, at night no disturbance caused by dogs or the bar, room rate (March 2012) 78-88 RM. Backpacker Info: room rates Chinatown: Fan 30-40 RM, A/C 50-60 RM

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Clean comfortable room and bed on the second floor. Wifi categorically does not work in the room but is excellent in the lobby. There's a bar below our room that started making a thudding noise at 11.30pm but lasted only 10 minutes. It's a short walk through old Georgetown to the Komtar Tower which is handy for shopping, the bus station, cinema at the top of 1st Avenue complex and the post office at street level. Thankfully no outdoor Karaoke and the barking dogs opposite knew when to shut up- pretty unusual for Georgetown! Not an unsafe area by day, just a bit run down. Walking alone at night, well, this area feels just that little bit further from the main tourist haunts and hotels, very slightly edgy and I'd advise caution. The hotel is on what seems to be car mechanic/tyre depot street. That said, it's a very clean hotel, spacious room, hit and miss reception staff - just don't get involved in conversations about where you're going next unless you want to commit to using the hotel of a friend of a friend etc etc. There's a small room with a few convenience food and drinks on site. Room had TV, air-con space for luggage, table, en suite shower room, modern bed, lights that worked and room service phone - slept well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, from Dec 11 to 14. We did not expect much as this is a budget hotel but my stay in this hotel turned out to be a terrible one.
1. Before I confirmed the reservation, the reception said free parking is available. After I checked in, there were only a few parking lots with a few useless machines to lift your car up. All the machines were laid idle. If you drive, your car will either block other cars or be blocked by others.
2.Hotel staff won't make up your room even though the MAKE UP ROOM tag was hanged on the door handle.
3. I had to ask the staff, in the third day, to make up the room as they didn't do so in the 2nd day. They didn't seem to be happy. After this, water supply stopped in my room as I tried to have a shower. Story didn't end here. At about mid night in the 3rd night, there was a power cut only in my room. I requested to change to other room, the duty manager only offered us a room for 2 person to my family of 4. We requested to put an extra bed in the room, he said he could not do this and they did not have enough staff and told us to move the bed and mattress from one end of the U-shape corridor, which is about 100 metre away, to the new room.
4. I was woken up very early in the last morning and ordered to move my car immediately as it blocked the way of someone's car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Address: 81, Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.