We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Japanese Food in Penang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oh Sushi

Oh Sushi
3E-G-5, Block E, Ground Floor | Straits Quay, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Inzai, Japan
2 reviews
“Real Japanese Food in Penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food at Oh Sushi was surprisingly Japanese for Malaysia. I was expecting something similar to the US where they only serve strange rolls (eg. Caterpillar Roll, Spider Roll). However, what we saw was authentic Japanese food that you might find in Japan. The tempura was particularly great, as it was not over cooked as it usually is. The miso soup was properly made with an underlying base soup prior to applying the miso, allowing us to experience Japan in Penang.

There were a couple of exceptions to the food. The "spicy" pork roll was unbelievably spicy, to the point where a local Malaysian was shocked at how spicy it was. This would be unsuitable at a Japanese restaurant like this, as it would not represent what Japanese people eat. There should at least be a warning that says that the spiciness is beyond what even a native Malaysian could handle.

The sushi was fairly good quality for Malaysia. The fish was fairly fresh, and the more expensive pieces had a good amount of fat on it. However, some of the fish may not have been fresh enough, as 3 out of 5 of us had light diarrhea the next day. I am not surprised about this though, as eating sushi in such a warm climate usually means that raw food spoils easily.

The service was very good, as expected at a Japanese restaurant. There was a hearty "irasshaimase" (welcome) when we entered the restaurant, and they refilled the tea at a regular pace. After complaining about the spiciness of the food, they gave us ice cream free of charge. Although this level of service is expected, it was pleasant to see this even in Malaysia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“One of the best Japanese Restaurant in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The food were fresh and well cooked. They service was in standard. The price was high but truly worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Absoulately perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been dining at this restaurant at least four times a week. The food porsions, taste and the service is absoulately perfect and satisfiying.
Specialy the salads are fresh, crisp and the sauces are mouth watering. The staff is also perfectly trained to high standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooftops
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“three and a half stars!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was a little hesitant on the 3* rating as the food was good. The service, however, needs to be tweaked.....a lot! It seems like it wants to be an upscale Japanese dining experience but falls short by a few rungs.

When we entered the establishment we had to wait around for about a good 5 minutes before we had to call out and be attended to. After being given the menu for a look over, it literally took yet another 15 minutes trying to get either the servers, hostess, supervisors attention. We tried to catch the eye of any of them but it seemed like they were either trying to avoid our orders or simply acting busy with only 4 other tables occupied.

But..Alas!...we ordered and the food arrived and kudos to the kitchen technicians! Food was great!

Asking for the bill was another whistling/waving task thrown upon us. How long?....don't ask!

Other than that I would recommend this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Service is Ok. waitress friendly. Price a bit on high side. Environment good. Food is authentic . Good for family dining n entertaining .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Sushi also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Oh Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oh Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.