We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mews Cafe

Mews Cafe
77 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
+60 4-263 6125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 640 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Needed a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had read about this place but stumbled on it by accident during an exploratory visit to Georgetown. We were ready for a break from the heat and noise and the timing was just right for lunch. It is quite small inside, with a few tables outside in leafy shade. We both had a chicken schnitzel and really one to share would have been ample. Very generous portions. It is not the cheapest place by any means, but the food was good, freshly cooked, so you need to be a bit patient when busy. Service was friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_bielby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
georgetown
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“it has improved ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

i first visited in april 2012 and when i went back in november 2012, their food has improved. on both occasions, i tried their nasi lemak and it has improved 10x, they must have hired a new chef. even their lunch menu has become better. it is a decent place where local food are presentable. the place is nice and cozy for intimate groups. it can be difficult if you have a vegetarian with you but they are willing to accommodate your request which was fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambiance but too pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went there for dinner, the setting is very nice. Food was just average. Not as good as the local hawker and way overpriced.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for tea break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe is part of the Muntri Mews Hotel. We had our tea break there. Nice place, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staffs.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really nice setting. I had breakfast there. good selection - western and asian. price, a bit on a high side. food quality above average, rate 1 to 10, I will give 7

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mews Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mews Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing