We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it has improved ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mews Cafe

Mews Cafe
77 Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
04-2636125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
georgetown
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“it has improved ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i first visited in april 2012 and when i went back in november 2012, their food has improved. on both occasions, i tried their nasi lemak and it has improved 10x, they must have hired a new chef. even their lunch menu has become better. it is a decent place where local food are presentable. the place is nice and cozy for intimate groups. it can be difficult if you have a vegetarian with you but they are willing to accommodate your request which was fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    105
    55
    12
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambiance but too pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner, the setting is very nice. Food was just average. Not as good as the local hawker and way overpriced.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for tea break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe is part of the Muntri Mews Hotel. We had our tea break there. Nice place, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staffs.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really nice setting. I had breakfast there. good selection - western and asian. price, a bit on a high side. food quality above average, rate 1 to 10, I will give 7

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Mews is a great place to refresh and rejunavate quiet and cozy ambience. Staff friendly and accommodating. On Sat evening listen to live music. Menu is something with modern twist creation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mews Cafe also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to Mews Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mews Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.