We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comforting visit to an old friend......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mews Cafe

Mews Cafe
77 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
+60 4-263 6125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 511 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A comforting visit to an old friend......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As always,reliable,consistent and yes,it's not the cheapest place to eat in a Foodie paradise like Georgetown but.....it's all relative. If you are comparing it to the street food,yes,its prices are steep but then you know that the dishes are washed in a commercial kitchen, not by the roadside. If you are comparing it to the Coffee Houses in the average Downtown or Beach Hotel,the quality and authenticity of the food here beats hands down. I had a variety again,a sandwich,and my companion had the daily special of Ipoh soup Noodle. The subtlety of the stock,the sweetness from the prawns and not MSG is the first winner. My sandwich filling was very generous and fresh and good quality chewy bread. Great people watching spot too as its a venue that attracts the travellers,the well travelled locals,the not too well travelled but adventurous locals and some interesting local characters because of its location and wi-fi availability. Staff are always happy to please and understands service. Still a favourite!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    97
    21
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Highly Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had a thoroughly unsatisfying experience. Despite the fact that the number of waiters was more than the number of tables with customers, I found the service to be slow and unattentive (although friendly). This seems to happen so often when a restaurant in Asia has a mandatory service charge (10%). Because the dining room is small, with concrete walls, ceilings and floors, it is quite noisy even with a small crowd.

The menu is very limited in scope and strangely priced. Fruit drinks, teas and beer are almost as expensive as the lower priced entrees, and the mixed drinks are as expensive as the most expensive entrees.

I ordered the Nasi Lemak Bento Box. I will say that the sauces on the chicken and shrimp were quite good and just spicy enough., And the presentation was appealing. However, both of the small cubes of chicken (and they were small) had bones in them. This was unexpected and could cause someone to choke.,

Do not order the berry crumble dessert. It was HORRIBLE. It consisted of a few frozen blueberries and raspberries that had been microwaved (so some were hot and others were still frozen), in just their own soupy juice with some crumbly stuff and ice cream on top. It was tart and the crumble was so hard it was difficult to chew., A restaurant that has many western items on its menu should know to bake a crumble. And to add insult to injury, the crumble at 13RM was almost as expensive as the entree (16RM), once again showing how screwy the menu prices are.

Given all of the great dining options in Penang, I'd avoid this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over priced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had lunch here several days ago and whilst i found the cafe had a nice ambience it seemed to me rather expensive for the quality of service delivered.

I had the vietnamese spring rolls (12 ringgit), laksa (16 ringgit) and lime juice (12 ringgit, which I found particularly outrageous given these drinks are freely avbailable in most restaurants for 2-3 ringgit)

The vietnamese spring rolls were rather bland, and only enlivened slightly by the accompanying peanut sauce/paste. The laksa was tasty enough, made true to the local style with a rich, fragrant, spicy broth and thick noodles, however I have had as good if not better in local eating houses for a fraction of the cost. The lime juice, enough said. They then have the hide to add another 10% service charge to the bill, to rub salt into the wounds. Total paid 44 ringgit.

The problem with these upmarket restaurants selling local type food is that they need to really provide something out of the box to justify their much higher prices. I could have had that same meal in a local eating place for under 10 ringgit, albeit in less auspicious surroundings.

In my opinion the restaurant was not worth the prices charged.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“oasis of calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stopped here for an early meal and sat outside. We had a curry mee (16RM - so not too expensive) and chicken pie - puff pastry with chips (22RM). Both were very nice. Not many people there, so not really much of an atmosphere, but was a nice place to sit and relax. All seemed very clean & hygienic. Would go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great asian fusion restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stopped to this restaurant by chance and it was delicious. The Nasi Goreng was great, all the products were fresh, there were live singers during our dinner, it was the prfect ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mews Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mews Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mews Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.