We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SO Hotel to your Saves list
SO Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 90, Siam Road, George Town, Penang Island 10140, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 107 George Town B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Been travelling for a month and this is the first review I've written, but I felt I should let people know how good this place is. The hotel is clean, comfortable and very well priced. The rooms are excellent, everything you need from a budget hotel and more.

The best thing about the hotel though is the service. Mr Leow and his team are fantastic, they give you great advice about the city itself, places to go and how to get there, booking taxis for you and giving you directions to places. Also, when we checked out, we left a USB stick behind in the lobby, which Mr Leow found and posted to our next hotel at no cost to us. Top notch service, cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
17
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dahab, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

i stayed one night; i chose it because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, and it was a good decision! the rooms are super clean, very new and modern. nice shower, comfortable bed, new AC and air cleaner. the staff is absolutely lovely, very helpful and kind, which in my experience is quite uncommon around this area.the only minus is that not all rooms have windows,but the lights are arranged in a nice way.
the price is very affordable and the service offered definitely exceeds expectations.
the hotel is in a quiet area (no noise are heard from the street) a 10 minutes walk from the main shopping mall,and maybe another 10/15 minutes to chulia street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel and room is clean and comfortable. There are few types of pillow which can be chosen based on our preferences and will be send to the room.
One thing that looked quite weird was the hand basin placed outside the bathroom (inside the room) for the triple room we stayed.

Location is not the main strength. As it's located in the housing area and we have to walk outside (approx 10mins) to find public transport/cab.
However, the big shopping mall area still can be reach by walking distance approx 30mins.

There is famous uncle's char kwetiau stall opposite the hotel (non halal).

3 staffs we met upon staying were all great, kind and helpful. But the most friendly and helpful staff ever is credit to the Indian lady (I forgot her name).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of hotel for Penang. SO Hotel was extremely clean and the room was comfortable.

The hotel has Japanese owners which is reflected in the room styles and service - the rooms are minimalist in decor and you get a choice of pillows for your comfort! We had a room with a queen and single bed and it was spacious with a huge window giving us a great view of the district.

All staff members were very friendly and excited to help us with whatever we needed.

The area did not look too promising on our arrival in terms of providing decent eateries but the hotel staff directed us to a hawker stand at the end of the street for dinner which is apparently very famous in the area, and it was delicious and very cheap. The next day we discovered many other amazing hawker eateries just round the corner and we ate so well for very little money during our stay.

The hotel is situated a fair distance from the historic centre of Georgetown (about a 45 minute walk) but taxis are cheap (approx 12RM) or you can catch the local bus (I think the 102) from Macalister Street just round the corner (approx 2RM) so it will only take you about 10 minutes to get to the centre.

We were very happy with SO Hotel and would recommend it to others travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was impressed from kindness and availability of all the staff at SO Hotel, they are willing to reply to all your questions and give support and new personal advices about things to do, how to reach places etc. I thought to have a problem with Wifi and after 1 minute the manager come till my room with its notebook to try it (it was working properly). They also help you to park the car when there is not parking available.
My room was ok and very very clean but lack of closet. I would say that the hotel is very very good except it is not in central town, so it is perfect if you have a car. There was not breakfast included but a decent place to have breakfast is just 30 meters distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location quite ok, there are restaurants in walking distance. We stayed there 2 nights. Our room is small but very clean. The hotel consider newly renovated. Modern design and new room fittings.
There is wifi available there. We can also choose our own pillow from a few choices.
The staff is very friendly and helpful! They give us a lot of advise about the attraction around the area. They even provide us free map and recommend nice food to us.
Limited carpark. Not easy to park especially bigger size car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Hotel

Address: No. 90, Siam Road, George Town, Penang Island 10140, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SO Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SO Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.