We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SO Hotel to your Saves list
SO Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 90, Siam Road, George Town, Penang Island 10140, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 147 George Town B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value Budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of hotel for Penang. SO Hotel was extremely clean and the room was comfortable.

The hotel has Japanese owners which is reflected in the room styles and service - the rooms are minimalist in decor and you get a choice of pillows for your comfort! We had a room with a queen and single bed and it was spacious with a huge window giving us a great view of the district.

All staff members were very friendly and excited to help us with whatever we needed.

The area did not look too promising on our arrival in terms of providing decent eateries but the hotel staff directed us to a hawker stand at the end of the street for dinner which is apparently very famous in the area, and it was delicious and very cheap. The next day we discovered many other amazing hawker eateries just round the corner and we ate so well for very little money during our stay.

The hotel is situated a fair distance from the historic centre of Georgetown (about a 45 minute walk) but taxis are cheap (approx 12RM) or you can catch the local bus (I think the 102) from Macalister Street just round the corner (approx 2RM) so it will only take you about 10 minutes to get to the centre.

We were very happy with SO Hotel and would recommend it to others travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
20
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sicily
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was impressed from kindness and availability of all the staff at SO Hotel, they are willing to reply to all your questions and give support and new personal advices about things to do, how to reach places etc. I thought to have a problem with Wifi and after 1 minute the manager come till my room with its notebook to try it (it was working properly). They also help you to park the car when there is not parking available.
My room was ok and very very clean but lack of closet. I would say that the hotel is very very good except it is not in central town, so it is perfect if you have a car. There was not breakfast included but a decent place to have breakfast is just 30 meters distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location quite ok, there are restaurants in walking distance. We stayed there 2 nights. Our room is small but very clean. The hotel consider newly renovated. Modern design and new room fittings.
There is wifi available there. We can also choose our own pillow from a few choices.
The staff is very friendly and helpful! They give us a lot of advise about the attraction around the area. They even provide us free map and recommend nice food to us.
Limited carpark. Not easy to park especially bigger size car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Location is in middle of town. Just outside the hotel you can find one of the best cha kua teow cook by an uncle. You get useful information from the receptionist. Room with pillow choice. Parking available. Come with free Internet access. Some room without window but air cleaner provided inside the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was small but very clean. The location is quiet good to walking around. The uniquely from this hotel that we can choose the type of pillow by ourselves. Wifi and internet service is available and it's so helpful for us. The staf is very welcome and always give advise about that area..valuable price and good service..great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Although this hotel is super cheap, the service is second to none! The rooms are very basic but have everything you require and are kept very clean and has free wifi. They're modern and the beds are comfortable and you get a choice of pillow or "dream partner" on arrival which makes sure that you get a great nights sleep! There's water coolers/heaters in the corridoors which were so handy and the location of the hotel was perfect if you wanted to explore George town, Penang. It's only about a 10minute walk from the Komtar which is the main bus station (public transport is really good) and there's plenty of good places to eat near by. The hotel excels itself with the quality of it's staff, they were brilliant! So happy and friendly and great at giving advice from how to travel around the area, where to eat or any other query you might have, they just couldn't do enough to make you're stay enjoyable. Would definitely return to this hotel next time im in Penang.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Hotel

Address: No. 90, Siam Road, George Town, Penang Island 10140, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SO Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your SO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SO Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.