We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marie,Sweden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penang Old House

Save Saved
You added Penang Old House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Penang Old House
No. 12 Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 83 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marie,Sweden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in the Japanese style room last year and I will definately stay at this place again this coming Chinese New Year.
Clean room, location is good, it's not far from town.
They have almost anything I need, attached bathroom, laundry room, fridge, wifi.
This place is strongly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I like the feel of staying at home...
Stayed in a ground floor double room with bath in No.12 (they owned & operate no. 8 as well). Can add 1 mattress on the floor.
Location is good. Just walk to main road Jalan Burma, there are 2 food courts (non halal) same roll with Union Chinese school with good food (my choice - char kuey teow) and drink (my choice - kopi c ice). 3km walk to the famous Gurney Drive. Walked there had dinner...
Parking is a bit of problem. If no parking try find at Jalan Arraton. Just short walk from the back roll.

Room Tip: If you do like to share bath room, remember to choose room with bath (double room with own bath on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in 2 different rooms. The rooms were clean and had a great aura of mystery surrounding it. The staff were very helpful ad kinnd. Didn't meet any open-minded travellers there, lot of people in the lobby didn't seem friendly. Mybe it was because we were a travelling couple?? Can't knock the hostel though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were staying the Tokyo Story room, we had a very nice and comfortable stay at there. And most important thing is, the location of the guesthouse is super good! Just in the middle of Georgetown area and Gurney Drive :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed in house no 8, only to find out that actually house no 8 and house no 12 are very different actually. House no 12 is much nicer than no 8! most of the nice pictures you see are found in house no 12.
House no 8 that we stay, has only little decoration and it was nothing special.

good points:
rooms are clean, big living room with aircon. great location, easy access to many good foods. Must try the keow teow soup stall on that road,it is awesome!

bad points:
shower is a problem, water pressure in second floor is very weak that we need to come down to use that toilet on the ground floor.
the single room in house no 12 has attached bathroom,but there is no toilet bowl in that toilet, you still have to come out to use the shared toilet if you wanna defecate.

Room Tip: Book house No 12 for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular guest of this home stay.

I get used to stay in a different types of rooms and I was enjoying of their differrent kind of the room designs.Its so creative and feel confortable.Example:A Japanese design of the room..They will put some Japanese stuffs for the room decorations which will make you feel like you are in Japan but not Malaysia.Better make a room reservation with the boss and mentioned for the type of room that you wanted in advanced.

You must try the Kuey Teow Th'ng for your breakfast.Its place at corner of the left hand side from the homestay.It served with an original taste prepared by an old man since 50 years ago.Highly recomended for whom like to try the Penang local foods.

" This is a good choice to whom prefer to stay with home warming feel."
Thumbs up!!!

You may contact the person in charge "Koh" +60162820139 for further informations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

went to Penang for a 3-day holiday trip with family.
stayed at Unit 12, in the only room at the ground floor, nearest to the restroom. room has 2 queensize bed,placed on top of each other, so we only get used 1. we occupied 2 rooms, 2 in each room.
the whole house is clean, rooms are well organized, restrooms have clean tiles and toilets, towels, TV, AC and electric fan are available on each room.
house is really an art space. the owners are artists, that's why.
rapid penang 101,103,104 bus stop is just a few steps away from the house.
since we don't have a car, we walk a bit far to find something to eat.
at lunch, we headed to new world park food court (at the back), it's 15 min walking distance
at night, we walked for 30 min going to Jalan Magazine, and on our way back, walked to KOMTAR to ride a bus.
you may go to Gurney Drive Hawker Food Center, a 45-min walk.
for a trip to Georgetown we hired a taxi (0124700330) to tour us,with running meter.
our contact person is Koh, he's so kind and he knows a lot so we asked him on whereabouts of Penang

Room Tip: at Unit 12, room at the ground floor has the easiest access to restroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penang Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penang Old House

Also Known As:
Penang Old House Georgetown
Address: No. 12 Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penang Old House is a purposed built old-fashioned themed guest house and it is within a 1934 years old heritage building, used to belong to the British, hence its colonial-style double-story tenements. It has an open-planned courtyard which allows natural luminance of sunshine. The concept of this guest house is inspired by the overseas youth hostel. The Penang Old House is strategically located in the central of Georgetown and it is missioned to serve the high demand of foreign students and visitors in Penang. After two months of renovation, refurbishment and sophisticated interior design, The Penang Old House is now opened for business! The Penang Old House is situated along the street with varieties of art galleries, gourmet stalls, souvenir shops as well as a mini-supermarket (7-eleven) not far from here. It is also close to some famous Penang local delicacies such as the green house shrimp noodles (Hokkien Mee) and the Dragon Pearl’s biscuit shop. The nearest bus stop is only a couple of walk away and the public transport link is making life rather convenient to get around in Georgetown. Penang Old House is also located within the Georgetown History district, which was listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Penang Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penang Old House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.