We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sire Museum Restaurant

The Sire Museum Restaurant
4 King Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 463 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Sire Museum Restaurant is situated within the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Georgetown. We serve contemporary western cuisine and a few local favorites. The museum at the back portion of the building features the story of a philanthropist, Yeap Chor Ee.More info/photos available on Facebook
Macclesfield, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We found the Sire through the Lonely Planet guide. We visited for an afternoon coffee and walnut fudge cake as recommended in the guide. This gave as access to the museum which was well worth a visit. The staff were really pleasant and friendly, Gabriel the head waiter couldn't do enough to please, also the little Philipino waitress Desa was lovely. We wanted somewhere to celebrate my birthday within walking distance of the E&O Hotel, so we booked in for an evening meal, we were not disappointed the food and service was excellent. After the meal, I was so impressed with the chef's Char Kway Teow, that I asked for the recipie, not only did he writ it out in excellent English for me he then came out and ran through the cooking instructions for me. He also went to the trouble of shopping for the local ingredient Belacan for me and brought it in the next day, he tried to give it to me for a present. The interior of the restaurant was exquisite, and made more pleasant by the C.N.Y. lion and dragon masks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bit pricy, but great food and wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went here the day before Christmas and had a great champagne lunch. This is an excellent place to go when you start getting a bit tired of the Asian food! Top it with a bottle of great wine! And finish the meal with a crepes suzette!! And have a walk through the museum, which we found very interesting and one of the most informative in Georgetown.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice and welcoming restauring that's comes along with good food. Services from the friendly staff makes you feels very relax in the restaurant. The music played at this restaurant comes from classical to jazz and suitable for all group of people. While waiting for the food to be served and after finishing the food, have a good view of some of the antique collection in the restaurant. Have spent nearly 2 hours at the restaurant and are highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

While initially being concerned at the lack of local dishes, the one that I chose was very good and my husband was happy with his Western meal. The setting is lovely (go upstairs to see the room) and the desserts were spectacular in their presentation and delicious! Very good service too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Been there twice. Will still go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I think this is a must for people traveling to Penang. This restaurant is set in an old building transformed into a museum. I believe it is run by the family of the rich philanthropist who used to own banks. it has plenty of antiques and relics. Very nice settings. The food is not cheap by local standards but quality is good and the servings are generous. Service is excellent too.

Definitely worth a trip there for dinner

After dinner you can take a tour of the building. Very unique architecture and spiral staircases. You can learn a lot of history of the Chinese people who emigrated to Penang at the turn of the century and how they became multi-millionaires or perhaps billionaires by the range of businesses they went into. The family tree was also very impressive as they could trace back their ancestors to one of the Chinese emperors.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sire Museum Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to The Sire Museum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sire Museum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.