We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice location, superb atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MoonTree 47

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added MoonTree 47 to your Saves list
MoonTree 47
47 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice location, superb atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very cozy, clean and designed in an old fashioned colonial style so to speak. There are many details that stick to the overall design beginning with breakfast menu and ending with tap. Rooms we've stayed at were small, with 2 levels. It was pretty hard to get upstairs due to narrow and small steps. Ac was ok. The location is good-you can easily access the town and busses on foot. The staff, especially owner, are super friendly and super helpful. I fully recommend for backpackers who want to get good vintage clean friendly place for reasonable money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
9
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place looks nice from outside and the cafe is great. However, they did not spend much money in rooms and rooms are very dark and just dirty, not antique looking. Their mattress has bed bugs and smells very funny. Bed bugs were in the small room (shared bathroom).
Additionally, male owner was not nice at all!
When we arrived with lots of luggage, he said "So many luggages. How many people are staying?". I thought what's wrong with my luggage? I just had to travel with lots of luggages!
On another day, my local friends drove me to the guest house and we decided to have a cup of coffee. This guy immediately said "all of you cannot enter!", assuming that my friends were going to enter my room. It was very rude of him.
If he did not want my friends to go inside the room, why so? Did he think that all of them would stay there?

I have to admit that the location is nice and some of his services, such as giving me a friendly map, was nice. But I will never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moontree47, Owner at MoonTree 47, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir

Thanks for you kind review and We are so sorry for bed bugs problem, we do have doing some treatment monthly to prevent bed bug and termite control. After the treatment, it might have some smell.

I would like to apologize for my impolite way, maybe i don't your friends just come for visit you and i thought all of them will be join you in your room. Cause our rooms area is straightly only for room guest.

For the above matter, we will like to offer you a night stay with us again and all with compliment. All you need to do is tell us when is the date and we will reserved for you. If we don't have room for the date you mention then you might like to choose other day.

My mobile no are 016 444 7179. I would like to apologize once again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaling jaya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our bed was basically a mattress on the floor with 2 pillows. The whole place was shabby but we decided since we were only just sleeping there and going to spend the whole day outside it'd do. Also we felt bad about maybe cancelling on the same day. Bad mistake. Because the walls are latticed at the top, we could hear every single sound from the adjoining rooms. One room's occupants came back late and we got up. The next room got up at 7am in the morning and started playing Carly Rae Jepsen's 'Call Me Maybe' on repeat for about 45 minutes. We could also hear the occupants chatting. There's only one toilet and shower (outdoors) shared between 3 rooms. They were clean enough but there's a super lack of privacy, especially for the toilet because it's just shutters and there are small gaps at the sides of the doors. The worst thing however was that after waking up the next morning, I saw some insect bites on my right arm, feet and neck. At first I thought they were mosquito bites but they seemed harder and itchier. While packing up, we found a fat bed bug! After killing it, there was blood. We found another smaller one and same thing, it was filled with blood too! All in all, I've around 40 bites and I'm still itching and regretting having stayed there. They are definitely bed bug bites as I've checked on the internet, they look the same, their itch is unlike mosquitos and also I sleep on my right which explains the lack of bites on my left arm. Also having killed 2 bed bugs found in the room itself, there's no doubt in my mind I was bitten by bed bugs in this backpacker's place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moontree47, Owner at MoonTree 47, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir

Thanks for you kind review and We are so sorry for bed bugs problem, we do have doing some treatment monthly to prevent bed bug and termite control. After the treatment, it might have some smell.

For the noisy between room to room, we can't control it cause that is an old fashion rooms. Anyway I would like to apologize for all the above matter and for this matter, we will like to offer you a night stay with us again and all with compliment. All you need to do is tell us when is the date and we will reserved for you. If we don't have room for the date you mention then you might like to choose other day. For sure, i will arrange you a quiet room which is the room at the back and the room is with air-con and attach bathroom.

My mobile no are 016 444 7179. I would like to apologize once again.

Thank you

best regards
dickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Dear backpackers, please do not stay in Moontree 47. Why? The mattress i had was infested with bed bugs. My girlfriend and I were bitten all over. Woke up the next morning to see bugs (with our blood) crawling on our sheet! He should be lucky we didn't ask for a refund and medical bills. Apart from that, Our room reeked of insect poison. No wonder the owner was wearing a face mask. He didn't bother to tell us about the smell. Wicked. Electric socket isn't working. He had the guts to charge us RM100 for a night stay. With that price we booked another hostel nearby the next day with air con and individual toilet. Moontree 47 overcharged us. Boo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moontree47, Owner at MoonTree 47, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir

Thanks for you kind review and We are so sorry for bed bugs problem, we do have doing some treatment monthly to prevent bed bug and termite control. After the treatment, it might have some smell.

I would like to apologize for the above matter and for this matter, we will like to offer you a night stay with us again and all with compliment. All you need to do is tell us when is the date and we will reserved for you. If we don't have room for the date you mention then you might like to choose other day.

My mobile no are 016 444 7179. I would like to apologize once again.

Thank you

best regards
dickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thisboutiquue motel (I don't think they deserved to be addressed as "hotel" from Malaysian point of view) is selling it through vintage and old furnitures as the boutique theme. But somehow, the motel is poorly maintained. If you are a fan of vintage, I would recommend you to visit the Peranakan Mansion which is within walking distance instead of spending hundred dollars staying in this motel.

We booked a suite type room with USD 110 per night. The room is dated, wood floored (note, I use wood instead of timber as you feel you will be falling off fromthe wood floor), dirty (seeing spider webs and dust) and with very basic arrangement - Just four mattresses on the floor and a simple hanger wood (Not even a clothes cabinet is provided). Noisy fan and air conds. That is all you have in your room. A LCD TV is set with no channels available in that studio room, slow wi-fi, and a washing basin in the living room. What a weird arrangement. And they give you a lock to lock your room.

The food and beverages are overpriced and the food quality is decent.

The owner who is the front desk staff is rude and unfriendly. But what to expect from a MOTEL owner? Though they tend to decorate their motel with a lot of dated accessories, but to me, the decoration is more likely haunted feeling than giving vintagel feeling. Cats running around at the dining hall. How inhygient is it when you see cats running around while dining.

It is unlikely to give compliment and providing a pro of this motel. Which normally i will try to look for something good during my stay. But, unfortunately, I can't really find any in my two nights stay.

I would recommed some other hotels along or nearby Muntri Street if you think you want the strategic location. I will not recommend this motel to anyone with present condition and bad attitude. Save your wallet and witht he same price, you can go to Cititel which is nearby and i am sure you get better value from the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being a great big fan of old vintage furnitures and accessories, I absolutely love the experience of exploring the hotel various items that graced every corner of the common area. We got the double-storey rooms at the back of the hotel, which is cute, but unfortunately can feel a tad too claustrophobic for some with narrow spaces and low ceiling.

The narrow, steep stairway connecting the two floors can be a real hazard and should be used with great care at all times. The shower area on the top floor is technically right at the balcony overlooking the common walkway downstairs, and while it is an excellent spot to while a cooling afternoon away, can also compromises on your privacy. Also the tightly-packed rooms and thin walls mean your pleasant stay is at the mercy of various sources of disturbances, especially from inconsiderate patrons. We experienced one just like that, who blasted latin music from within their room next door. The owner, Dickie, did nothing to stop them, nor did he follow-up with me after having received my email about the incident.

The price range of this hotel means that we do not expect anything close to luxury, but there are unfortunately two items that the management has obviously stinged on. The first one is the thin sheet of towel that not only does very poorly in absorbing water, but also smells rather bad when wet. The second is the thin small sheet of blanket that is big enough just for one person, despite that being meant for two.

Apart from the above, the stay was a pleasant one, and so is the excellent location of this hotel. Nevertheless, there are many hotels of this price range around Georgetown so I will definitely try some of these out before coming back to this one again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the same building as the reception has no air-conds, rooms at the back of the hotel is spli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went here as a Christmas treat as part of a long backpacking trip. Yes it's a bit more than some places in Georgetown but for us it was a lovely experience. The owner Dickie is clearly very into his vintage furniture and interior design, resulting in a beautifully considered and original space. There are a few odd touches such as the outdoor shower but it's all been thought through very well. I can understand some people's gripes about the place if you expect a slick and anonymous experience, but anyone interested in design and vintage ephemera will love the creativity and little details.

One small issue was the fan room we had upstairs is rather open to any noise from the room next door - was only a problem one night of our stay with some late arrivals chattering away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MoonTree 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonTree 47

Address: 47 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your MoonTree 47 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MoonTree 47 Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonTree 47, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.