We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too hyped, but not a disappointment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little too hyped, but not a disappointment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved the room itself, as well as the appearance of the hotel and the staff. The biggest issue was the shared bathroom space, and the thinness of the walls, and the loud door slamming at all hours of the night. WHERE IS THE TOILET PAPER?!? There were so many staff members in and out of the bathroom, cleaning efficiently and being really kind, but nobody put toilet paper in the bathrooms. Kind of important people. The hotel itself is great and I'd recommend it to anyone, but I hope they enforce the 'no shoe' policy to help control the loudness and also sort out the lack of TP. It's the little things like that that can drive you crazy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    215
    96
    15
    9
See reviews for
68
185
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

When searching hotels for a 2 day stop in Penang I stumbled upon very positive feedback & also quite negative about this hotel. I understand style & needs are very different requirements but this hotel has created a wonderful welcome experience with pure white themes, big fluffy cushions, crisp white linen, hairdryers,access to boiling water for that wake up culpa & an iron for communal use all on offer for a budget price.The bathrooms are a genius design of smooth wipe clean surfaces compact yet plenty available for shared use. Having stayed Previously in one of the single front guesthouses on Chulia street I was concerned about narrow steep stairs to carry or bags up but not a problem here as the stairs are very wide leading off a very generous foyer. Calm pleasant & content well trained staff ax well. Ticked all boxes for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Being swayed by the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, my wife and I chose to opt for a change from the usual modern and upmarket hotels. Sad to say, it was a decision to regret.

Other than location, a clean room and friendly staff, the hotel was very basic in every aspect. We were first given a small room with no windows (a first in all my hotel stays). With a bit of persuasion, managed to get another room with a window, but just as small making movements extremely restricted, especially if you are staying more than one. Luggage had to left on the floor as rack was not provided. With no writing table facility, writing had to done on the bed. In-room safe was non-existent and the en suite bathroom was small with very basic toiletries (no facial tissues provided). The wardrobe had three miserable clothes hanger that was probably handed down as heritage and no full length mirror in sight. There was only one light above your bed with no side lamps, so can you imagine having to get to the switch next to the door in the middle of your sleep, if you need to check on something. And no telephone......in case of emergencies!

For money's worth, I would suggest checking into a modern hotel with better facilities and larger rooms with locations just as good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel has very basic amenities, it's a heritage hotel as i understand where rooms are available either on the ground or 2nd floor.

this hotel however has a serious noise problem. at night you can hear people's footstep from the lobby, room door slamming, car parking outside, footsteps from people at the 2nd floor. aircon make a hell lot of noise, it was a difficult 2 nights sleep throughout.

be prepared to bring your own soup, shampoo, toothbrush etc. the hotel doesnt provide these.

hotel is near a food centre - red garden, thats where you go for a nice supper.

good range of tv channels, i have no problem with their wifi too. people staying here for the 1st time might want to note to stay in rooms that comes with attached bathroom.

overall, the hotel really has to do something about the noise issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have been to Penang Island regular as a holiday destinations. This trip however, was very different as I choose to Stay in town and book 1 night at Chula Heritage.

The hotel makes my trip so much more wonderful and pleasant. Walking distance to 'Line Clear' Nasi Kandar, Penang Street Arts and Wall Paintings by Ernest Zacharevic.

Travel around by foot in the cool evening and plenty of bicycle for hire.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite. FREE wifi, big open spaces, parking and most importantly, very safe.

Thank you Chulia Heritage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

First off this is more of a "hostel" and a "hotel" - At least in the rooms we stayed in. There were also fully serviced rooms with en suites but we didn't stay in them.

The best thing about the hotel is the location and the service - It is located within walking distance to all Georgetown central attractions, and road which it is on is serviced by metropolitian buses.

Hotel staff were courteous and friendly. Everyday we would ask the front-desk for recommendations for places to eat, visit, etc., and their advice were always on the money.

Free wifi is a bonus, as is the free bike rentals. The decor is pretty cool and the shared bathrooms were well maintained.

We stayed for 3 nights for around $140 SGD - Great value for money.

TIP #1: It is worth getting a taxi from the airport as there is no street-front signage. Should cost around 40 Ringgits

TIP #2: Get the free bike rental and cycle around Georgetown. Ask for the street-art map and check out the cool ones - All of them are less than 10 minutes bike

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

very clean & perfect location. we chose this hotel for the location and the fact that it had car parking. well located & friendly staff. rooms were compact but perfect for a 2-3 night stay. i would not stay much longer than that due to the size of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chulia Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.