We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed there for a night only, I was attracted by the affordable price and location, Once we checked in, the lobby give you a very comfortable environment, very bright and clean. Room is reasonable size and clean. With good selection of Astro TV program. Only cons is the bathroom, they should not fix the rain shower in the middle of the bathroom, the whole bathroom will get wet even the toilet paper. Staffs are helpful and give us some info where to eat and also assist us to book taxi to airport. Location is unbeatable, close to all major attraction if you want to hunt for all the painting in the heritage site, few shop away there is a very popular roasted pork and char siew restaurant. Will stay in this hotel again for my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SEA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Only spent a night here on way back through penang from langkawi. Very nice setting, back from the main street, wishing we had spent our initial stay in Georgetown here now. Very friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable, only downside would be that the bathroom is a bit small but as it's only a night not a major! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreyDuece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
383 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

the biggest advantage of this nice little guesthouse is its quiet (!) location in the middle of the Unesco world heritage area and the good value (rates around 28-30€/night for the double) - I think it's hard to find similar for that price why it's "above average" - compared to guesthouses specialized in Westerners who charge 3 times more!

in a nutshell: you get what you pay here: a quiet room with AC to sleep and that's it - the decor and architecture is nice but nothing fancy (looks better illuminated at night)- rooms are very small and tight, bathrooms like in the cheapest Singapore hostels combine shower and toilet/sink all in one.

For (western & value) breakfast you should go the guesthouse/cafe which has a entrance from the Chulia Heritage parking lot ("Stardust") - please also visit "Ecco Cafe" nearby for excellent italian dishes!

no pool, no restaurant in hotel BTW: the Chulia street turns to red-light after sunset which doesn't disturbe but good to know

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is good but the room is small, just enough for a queen size bed, a small sofa chair and toilet. Not decorated but it is simple and quite clean. Located on the ground floor and just along the corridor. The window and door were flimsy. Didn't feel there was much privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yes_tequila_sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For two nights we stayed in Chulia and it was ok.

Room was small,shower and toilet next to one another so if you took a shower whole bathroom was wet. We had one large bed that was great so we had good night sleep.

All other areas look like they belong to much more expensive hotel and the staff is super nice.
You can also borrow their bikes for city exploring,just check it before you go as i had some mechanical problems on the other side of the island and my return was then a bit longer than expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beliblisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was consider a very nice design hotel in georgetown. I will come back to this hotel again if I could have the chance because the location of this hotel is convenience, and most importantly it is cheap with this nice design concept of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qszhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I really like this hotel, it was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in on our entire trip (bearing in mind we were backpacking in hostels for a month). The rooms were very nice, obviously the hotel was very clean. It was also a good location. The only problem is that the front of the hotel is entirely open, with no door whatsoever. There isn't a security issue at all, but our rooms were on the first floor (the same floor as the reception) and one of our rooms had a large gap beneath the door to the room and the floor. At around 9-10pm, we were just chilling in the room when a medium sized rodent came running into the room and hid behind the wardrobe. We didn't actually see what the rodent was, because it ran too fast and unfortunately despite repeated efforts from the reception staff to rid the room of it, they never were able to so we had to just accept that the rodent was going to live with us that night. It wasn't that bad, but if anybody gets really freaked out by things like that, then just be aware of it. The hotel was very good value for money though. By far the best value for money we got at accommodation on our entire trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, rather than the first floor if you get easily freaked out by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikitajadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#21 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#33 of 72 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#6 of 72 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#27 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#11 of 72 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing