We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, valued for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well located, valued for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel is well located near attractions, local food ( morning market and night food street).
Conveniently accessed via public bus, walkable to the famous murals.

Neatly tucked behind other shop houses, you may miss it on your first walk as you may see other hotels along the road ( hence you may assume its facing the road) However on the plus side, you aer kept away from the noise, so had a rather peaceful sleep at night XD

Room size was acceptable however, our room was lined with ants... Across the room, from door to the ceiling before disappearing behind the cupboard. Due to shortage of manpower, we decided not to wait for the reception to come over till evening we are back. However, the army of ants disappear in the evening when we returned. As we only stayed for a night, we did not want to make a fuss afterall we are leaving the next morning.

But the reception tried their best to help us and were polite too :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    196
    79
    15
    9
See reviews for
61
171
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

after coming back from Laos, I want to give my husband a slice of my backpacking trip so I chose this place.

Ended up:FANTASTIC! its not even backpackers at all even though they r priced at this range.

PROS
High Ceiling;
good location ( 5 min walk to almost 24 hour market)
CLEAN!
newly renovated
friendly service

CONS
the rooms near the main stairs and receptions could be noisy, they upgraded us there but we changed to the quieter room in the annex.

I have 7 pictures in this blog entry, enjoy!
http://liciapolis.blogspot.fr/2012/08/travel-penang-george-town-chulia.html

Room Tip: the quieter rooms are at the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Chulia Heritage Hotel is located quite central. Only thing the hotel is very well hidden in a side street and we walked several times by until we found it. All the sightseeing is pretty close. For its price its absolutely worth to go. The house has a nice classical style, the rooms are ok as well and the staff was friendly as well. Only thing the poor receptionist had to do a lot of work himself so we had to wait a couple of times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Me and my family stayed in a triple room (shared bathroom) for 2 nights. The staffs are friendly, room was big enough and they also provide free bicycle to rent. However, it was quite noisy at night because of the old wooden floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in 2012 at this heritage hotel and came back this year for a 2 night-1 day stay in Penang. Total value for money and add to it the experience of staying in a well-maintained heritage hotel. The room and bathroom may be a bit small, with less space to move around but all other things are just too good to consider these negatives :)
Being vegetarians, food is a bit of a problem for us while travelling but in Penang, staying in Georgetown in Chulia street very close to tasty Indian vegetarian food is a blessing!(especially when you have a toddler in tow!) We really love Penang and Georgetown. Thank you chulia heritage hotel, hope to come back soon!!!

Room Tip: For families, it is better to go for the ground floor rooms which have attached bath, for backpacker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the best hotels during our trip. Pleasant and attentive staff. Loved the big bed with firm mattress. Room cleaned thoroughly daily. Hotel has a very clean atmosphere because everything is white. Not for everyone but for me it worked. Especially because Georgetown is not the cleanest town. Our room was pretty big, I actually suspect we got the deluxe room despite booking the standard room. Bathroom quite small, but it's modern, functional and clean.

Very conveniently situated in Chulia street. Hotel has no eat or drink facilities (except water boiler + coffee and tea, water bottles and a fridge in our room) but there are plenty of options just around, like The Mugshot Cafe.

It can be a little bit noisy but it wasn't bothersome for us. Except for our window, when people would walk upstairs the window was rattling. Kinda annoying, so I put some toilet paper between the window to prevent it from rattling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location with famous food stalls within walking distance. Marvelous structure, painted white and quiet environment. The room was simple,high ceiling,tv,a/c & water heater work well.
Will definitely be our choice when we return to Penang in October

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chulia Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.