We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms were small, but modern and with great air condition. Added bonus: a flat screen tv that we plugged an sd card into and reviewed our awesome Southeast Asia pictures on while falling asleep. Pictures weren't actually that awesome, but after weeks of falling asleep to Euro club football matches on tape delay, they seemed awesome. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    226
    105
    17
    12
See reviews for
72
198
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel has a very good location. It is easy to access to other attraction, i.e. Love Lane and Chulia Street. At night, there's a night market located just right a cross the street.

My partner and I were expected too much from the size of the room. It was much more smaller than we saw from hotel's homepage. But the room is spotless and tidy.

Wifi was randomly disconnected at room. I could not connect the wifi from my room. If you want to use a stable wifi or internet, you may need to use in at the lobby.

We have stayed there for two nights and we didn't hear much noise from outside. This maybe because our room is located away from the lobby.

Also, we love their TV channel : ) They got heaps of movies to watch. You won't be bored if you want to stay in the room and enjoy your night.

Staff are friendly. However, when the staff cleaned up our room, they forgot to top up the toilet paper.

Overall, this hotel is reasonable with the price that we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stumbled across this place and I am so happy that we did. They have rooms on the ground floor with ensuite bathrooms, and then on the top floor there are a selection of rooms with shared bathrooms (there are about 7 or 8 shower/toilet stalls). The room was spotless, the A/C was bliss (and necessary), and each room had a flat screen TV!!!

The building has been refurbished and looks amazing, but still holds much of its character. It was a bit more expensive than what I had set aside for my budget, but I was happy for this little bit of paradise.

My only complaint is the toilets are always wet from the shower, but the actual shower made up for it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If it wasn't for the super friendly and helpful staff here, my review could be a lot worse. The hotel is an old English heritage building which, although its been refurbished to accommodate for today's in-house guest, it unfortunately is starting to show its true age. After our first night at Chulia, our toilet didn't flush...the front desk was able to promptly arrange a room keeper to come in to have a look and we were expecting it to be a little block in the piping that would be unblocked in a few minutes but we ended up having to be asked to stay out of our rooms for the entire day - apparently the blockage was a lot worse than they had anticipated and they needed to pump acid into the pipes, which would've filled the room up with a sewage stench. Lucky for us that we had a day tour booked in at 930am-630pm that day - but I was quite disgruntled upon returning back to the hotel, only to discover that the sewage was still not fixed and that I was asked to wait for another 45min. On top of this, there was little peeves which made the whole experience a little unpleasant ie. our toilet paper was not refilled during house cleaning (I had to ask the front desk for some) and we had an army of ants in our room (but I suppose that could be put down to the age of the building). All in all, its in a great location with the Kimberly/Campbell St hawker food stalls a short 2min walk away, some of the best Hainan chicken rice on offer at your footstep and a for all you footy/sport fans, there's a little place called Cintra Heritage, about 1min walk from the hotel that offers some alright pub type grub food, beer and the sports channel for those wanting to catch their NRL team play (as my husband and mate excitedly discovered!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located in the middle of Chulia Street, extremely hard to find the exact location since the hotel is 'hidden' right behind the busy street.

Check in process is quite fast, the guy in the front desk upgraded my room from a deluxe to a family room, which I don't really need it anyways. Rooms are newly renovated and clean. For the price that I'm paying, the room is complete with most of the amenities but not toothbrush. The management might need to have a thought of providing toothbrush in the room.

A big plus for the location of this hotel,just a stone throw away from the Penang Street, where u can get most of the local delights of Penang easily. 5 minutes walking distance to the Armenian Street, where you can find interesting street arts around.

Service is okay, not much of interaction with the staffs since I am very familiar with Penang. Overall this is a good hotel will recommend it to my friends and family and me myself will return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner room are quiet should you have difficulties sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This turned out to be a great hotel to spend 3 nights in. It was really clean and nicely decorated. Everything was in the room as it should be. We got a free upgrade to a Deluxe room as the standard wasn't ready when we checked in around 3 p.m. Check-in and Check-out was relatively quick and hassle free. The staff were all professional and friendly. There was a RM 50 deposit for the access card. Free WIFI in the room was fast enough for most tasks. Really like the overall decor with white everywhere. The best part has to be the location. It is located at the world heritage site and walking to the important parts of the attractions and good restaurants is very easy. They will also start a bike rental service soon. For the price, this hotel is very easy to recommend.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are a bit noisy when people walk upstairs. Room 108 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Dec-12. It's located within the heritage area, and walkable to lots of good food. The room is quite small but consider very clean. There are plenty of parking lots for the customer.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms does not come with attached bathroom. Do check properly when you want to book your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chulia Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.