We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small but spotless- make sure you book an en- suite. No view but if you only need a place to sleep in its perfect. Clean and white. Bathroom very small - shower over toilet. Doesn't offer breakfast but you never far away from food in Penang. Aircon not the most effective but adequate. I dont think i have come across better value for money in Penang. Its all about what you expect. Spotless room at a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    198
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
61
171
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Defined as a "luxury" room it is far from it. TV wires hanging loose, poky, next to a rubbish heap (I dare you to open the smoked glass windows) and with some long black hairs on the floor (I haven't had those since the 70's) prompted me to ask for a change of room. I have to say I was accommodated as soon as another room was available (108) which was twice the size (a grand suite maybe?). I cannot find fault with the staff all of whom were very pleasant, polite and helpful. But looking behind the glitzy entrance I found it fairly average and at about 50 euros a night not the best value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The white decor really works in conveying a clean, hygienic vibe. Really central and great value for money. The building is a really cool renovated heritage house. An RM45 taxi ride in from the airport but also served by the far cheaper buses.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Decided to check into this hotel for a bit of luxury, after staying in a terrible hostel further down the road, and luxury it was! The staff were really attentive and helpful, they held our bags for us as we arrived too early for check in and had to travel to the Thai consulate. When we came back they upgraded us to a queen size bedroom for no extra cost as the cheaper double bedroom we had opted for wasn't ready. The room was spotless and came equipped with little extras like a kettle and hairdryer. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in and a sound nights sleep was had! Perhaps the only criticism was that the shower was only warm and not piping hot but after a month of cold water showers, this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Chulia Heritage Hotel is located in a great area in between some of the most important streets. It is also walking distance to Little India (food is amazing) and China Town. The staff were very helpful EXCEPT when a noisy family stayed up until 2am in the morning and the staff were unable to get the adults to put the children to bed. Though I doubt this was the staffs fault.

We had the biggest room in the hotel and it was very spacious. There was one (fake) window but it did let in some light even though you could not look out. The room was very clean and had everything we needed - really big bed, TV, internet, desk and chair etc. Only issue was noise - it was Chinese new year and so the hotel had quite a lot of guests and the walls are very thin.

Breakfast not included.

I would probably opt for something with a little more character next time, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Love the colonial architecture. Love the location.

The room we stayed is located at level 1. The TV is interestingly hung in the ceiling, at one corner. It was quite a different feeling for me to lie on bed and watch TV from that angle. The bed is huge and toilet is clean. Some may find it a bit small however.

Room Tip: Probably due to the location (level 1), I encountered a cockroach crawling out from the pipe in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in Chulia Heritage during the Xmas holiday. The hotel is hidden from the main road in a century-old colonial mansion with modern contemporary interior. The staff were really nice. One of our booked rooms were given a free upgrade to a room right in the lobby area. No privacy there if you have someone who likes going in/out of room! On the second night, our room had visiting ants. However, the other booked room we had on the ground floor located behind the lobby had none of our issues.

Room Tip: Try avoid getting the rooms in the lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chulia Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.