We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chulia Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Chulia Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just loved this Hotel!.

The only problem is, I think you can only book on line.....
The location is perfect, just a short level walk from the ferry terminal and to Pinang Road for a famous Penang Laksa.
It's also down a driveway so protected from street noise.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully presented - lovely decor and with everything you'd want including tea making facilities.

There is no bar or provision for breakfast but plenty of opportunities in the street outside.

Very nice and efficient staff.
We booked a 4 hour island tour with a driver through the Hotel and both he and the tour were very good.
He also arranged our ferry tickets for Alor Setar as well and delivered us to the jetty.


Would definately stay again!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    213
    96
    15
    9
See reviews for
68
185
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here many times already when we went to Penang for holidays and for Indian Visa run.

We did tried some other hotels and guest houses in this area, but at the end we find this hotel is the best. And so, we kept coming back for this hotel.

It is well situated in George Town. It is on the same street as the Indian Visa Centre and it's less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the Indian Visa Centre. It is easy straightforward 10-15 minutes walking distance to Komtar via Cintra Street. Along the way, you find many decent good Chinese Dim Sum restaurants and food court. 10-15 minutes walk to Little India where you find many good Indian restaurants especially Woodland vegetarian restaurant.

Most of the time, we stayed in the standard room with attached bathroom (130 rm per night walk in price), very good shower, very clean room/bathroom/toilet/beddings, very comfortable bed and pillows and cotton sheets, very good air-conditioning, very good connection of WIFI Internet in the room, tea making facilities, clean towels, soap & shower gel, hair-dryer, bottled drinking water, TV with 11 Astro channels, very comfortable arm-chair, bed side table, wardrobe, nice lighting with soft bright light, and room cleaning available everyday.

We stayed in the basic room with shared bathroom before for once, it was good enough, but we prefer to pay a little more for the standard rooms on the ground floor, as they are more comfortable with the attached bathroom and more quiet than the basic rooms upstairs.

The staff are really nice and friendly and efficient.

Parking places available with a security guard.

The entrance of the hotel from the Lebuh Chulia main road as well as the carpark area in front of the hotel is lovely view with some well maintained green plants.

The entire hotel is very well-maintained.

Highly recommended for a few nights stay or even for a longer stay as they provide room cleaning everyday if you need to. We stayed here for 5 nights the last time. There was not a single problem... Everything that I requested was being attended immediately. I gave a small tips to the cleaning ladies for doing a great job for cleaning the room for me.

Hope you will have a nice stay here. I did.

Thank you for everyone who works in Chulia Heritage Hotel for making our stay in Penang so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a nice hotel to come back after exploring Georgetown and its surroundings! Away from the main street (Chulia) this place is a little haven of serenity with its almost all white exterior/interior! The place is super clean, it shines!! We stayed 2 nights in a room with shared bathroom and 4 in a room with its own bathroom...Both room were very spacious, immaculate, the shared bathrooms were also kept clean. The staff is very nice and accomodating...we also liked the price we paid for this great stay...a very good address! Chulia street has many bars, restos and the hotel is not far from Komtar where you take local bus to go to Batu Ferringhi, Penang Hill....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This lovely hotel is a quiet, calm, cool refuge just steps away from restaurants, temples and sites along Chulia street.

Rooms are nicely sized, many with shared bathrooms. The aircon and TVs in the room are a treat at a budget hotel of this price.

Best of all is the cleanliness!!!! The hotel has a bright, white washed feel - and all facilities were exceptionally clean and cared for during my three day stay.

It's an excellent option for those on a budget, delivering a better quality experience than other places in the same area for a similar price.

Ps. Go next door to Yeng Keng's if you're missing a western-style breakfast or coffee!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Terrible staff with rude attitude. I would strongly suggest that most of them need to attend some kind of training to push their service levels to another level.

Beware if you try to book this hotel online as the transactions are not smooth and its an overall unpleasant experience for me. Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I can't say much about this hotel.... We stayed here 2 nights and we were really happy to see it cleanliness and service. Reception is very friendly butb e aware of the rent a car guyz opposite to the hotel. I would return to this hotel if we visit Penang again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in Chulia Heritage Hotel on october 2-3 2012. the hotel in very beautiful, the staff is very friendly and kind. I stayed there 2 nights and everything was perfect. the price is very good, the room was clean, new but not very big. but one of the best things is that is in the centre of the city and you can walk to see everything. chulia street has many place where u can eat. i suggest you to choose this hotel, is very good in everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chulia Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.