We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied ^^” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfied ^^”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed on this dormitory-hostel for 3nights with 4other friends (all females). we booked Mix dormitory with shared bathroom. actually its for 6oerson's room, but on the day we stayed on, there are no other people joined to, so we enjoy 6beds for 5 ^^ The room was very nice, and they have wifi (the connection is sooo slow on 2nd floor!, i need to go to the living room / reading corner to access wifi). Breakfast also good, they provided toast, eggs and sausages.
Locker for each person on room (remember to bring your own padlock). They have no lift (elevator), so if you travelling with big luggage, please beware.

On my friend bedbunk, she found insect which cause allergic on her body, so she complaint to the crew and crew ask my friend to buy her own medicine and do reimburse to hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there a week to find family and it's clear these guys currently work hard to be no. 1.

For breakfast included one day I had roti, 2 eggs, 2 toast baked beans, 4 mini bananas, cup of milk ceareal, coffee, tea, mango juice this morning. My traveller friend in another nice hostel said jealously 'whaaat I only had toast!'

The owners pretty much bent over backwards to accomodate us. I had organised a free mma 2 hr exercise tryout at their gym. They showed and took us to some good eating spots in area. I had some free beers and a laugh when they were celebrating something outside. (Penang independance weekend or something, do you need a reason?)

Just issues with noisy floors. Just have to tip toe alot. Some toilet and shower door locks worn also.

Other than that there's free internet, clean rooms, comfy bunks, modern shower, toilet, chic design. Staff are very friendly. Great location walking distance to key sites. Otherwise the points speak for themselves. A well run place.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChuliaMansion, Public Relations Manager at Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your review and we're ecstatic that you thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality. As we are a n owner-operated hostel, all our guests get higher level of personal attention and service from our team.

Wish you the best in your journey and how I wish I could take 1 year off and travel !!!

See you back in Penang soon.

Fred, BT & Ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With the abundant good reviews and I agreed with most of them, I would like to use this platform to sing praise to the owners. It's clearly you folks have the utmost passion to run Ryokan @ Muntri Street and keeping it at its highest standard even for a 'backpacker' accommodation.

First visit was a couple years ago and I thought it was good enough. Yesterday I found the bar has been raised with even better experience for travelers. Friendly and warm staff (especially Edward and the two kitchen / cleaning helpers), general cleanliness in rooms and washrooms (clean and smooth bedsheets are the game changer for me), sufficient facilities (love the mini socket and bed light shelf), comfortable furniture and the overall experience of charm and warmth from the food and deco.

Sure, I could nitpick a few things like towels and blankets could be 'fresher', decent wifi speed and inconsiderate big groups who has the tendency to perform elephant stomps along the room walkways early in the morning (also hush-hush conversation is not in their dictionary) where I understand the management has tried its best with placing notices but all these would not be a hindrance for future visits.

Thank you again for bringing a great backpacker's experience to Penang and keep it up! Definitely 300% will be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed there in April and enjoyed it very much. It's a hostel, but a very nice one. Clean rooms, very kind and helpful staff, free breakfast, has artsy interior and good location. Definitely a nice place to stay in when visiting Penang.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelantan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

-The hostel's environment is very clean and silence, & suitable for all backpackers. The bathroom is clean, and shower gel is prepared by this hostel too. The location is very good and near to all tourist attractions, such as street art, 3D art, and so on. It has save our time to take bus to our destination as well.
- Not only this, the staffs is very friendly and fluent in many languages too. So you don't have to worry about language problem if you are travel from abroad.
-Breakfast buffet is provided by this hostel, and it is free. There is many dining areas around this hostel. Many cafes, lounges and bars are located around this hostel too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

nice cool place to stay..very clean and tidy..i like the front doors..classics!! and toilets are clean..veriety of breakfast... friendly staff..the staffs seems to know alot of penang art scene..keep chating to manager..u might end up with free drinks..or two..hehe.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am from johor bahru, it is recommended to stay here. The reception service is very good, reply all the inquiry. They also provide free breakfast, one free drink at night and place for playing some traditional games. Besides, all the people there is very friendly as well as the boss. Like!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Address: 62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker needs, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.