We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bicycle Friendly Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bicycle Friendly Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went to Penang and booked this hostel with a group of 20 cyclist, very bicycle friendly hostel that lets you park your bicycles at the back of the hostel with security tag required to access. Clean washroom and comfortable room with decent price. Service is just normal. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    150
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
37
98
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I quite happy to choose Ryokan. Staff is quite friendly and helpful.
The Wi-Fi was fast, beds comfy, best breakfast, and location good. Not only the location is just perfect spot. Quiet surrounding, but actually really close to the busy street of Chulia and Penang. Near many good restaurants and also George Town's heritage.
I will coming back again !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First of all, the staffs are attentive. The room was decent enough providing the basic necessities we need. Power plug and individual lighting for each bed. The shower was great! Love the stream of water which is so like waterfall. The breakfast was good enough as I did not know it was provided before arrival. Simple fried egg was delicious. The location was strategic. It made me found a local kopitiam (frequently visited by Mr. Lim Guan Eng aka current Chief Minister of the state) with nice local coffee. The cleanliness in room was OK but I would suggest for more frequent changing of bed sheet. Cons: the wooden corridor outside the room is a bit disturbing when some people had heavier walking pace and thus produce louder noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, our first experience in staying in a hostel concept. We are quite surprise on our arrival, the environment of simplicity and comfortably remind us our hometown and not at all the busy streets of town. The room layout and design are simple and just enough for a simple travelers like us such as the layout of the Japanese concept bed. We enjoyed the home-cooked simple breakfast every morning and the staffs never fails to give us the morning smile. The location is a major attraction for us because of the walking distance to anywhere, especially the tourist attraction. Food eatery outlets are all in walking distance, laundry service and wi-fi is also available to our access. Bathroom are clean and well-maintained since my hubby is really particular on toilet cleanliness. We will definitely come back to stay here and explore more of Penang.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We traveled as a group for work, thus we did not spend a lot of time in Ryokan itself.

Pros: Cozy rooms are good for sharing with friends, WiFi, great showers (when there was water). Staff are friendly and did their best to accommodate our requests. Location is central.

Cons: During our three day/two night stay, there was a consistent water issue which was quite troubling. Breakfast was average. There are a lot of mosquitos in the common area, we hope the staff will take note of this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed two nights at this hostel upon my arrival in Malaysia. I was pleasantly surprised with its quality.

The room and bed were comfortable. Each bed had a shelf, light and powerpoint(s) on the wall for electronic devices.

The major negative were the bathrooms. You have to collect your toilet paper before entering the stall. You wouldn't want to forget! The showers were rain showers which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was simple but filling.

The hostel is built in a terrace house so my room, and presumably most, didn't have windows. Another thing to note is the hostel observes Japanese custom so you have to remove your shoes upon entry to the sleeping floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Passed by Ryokan Muntri the last time I was in Penang and it seemed pleasant and clean from the outside so decided to book a 4-bed dorm all to ourself for 1 night. You can't beat the location, it's on a quiet street yet just behind a busier Lebuh Chulia with all Georgetown attractions (murals and food) within walking distance. Checking in and out were smooth. The room itself is comfortable with blanket & towel provided (deposit of RM25 required) and aircond perfect for the hot hot weather, it even got a bit too cold for us that night. However, do note that the room may be a bit too small for some people especially for those not used to sharing space with strangers. Overall the whole place is clean but the toilets and showers are less than satisfactory for me - unpleasant stench coming from the toilet and cleanliness-wise for both spaces really could've been better. The water pressure at the sink was also low, but the next morning there was a sign saying there was some piping issue so it could've been due to that. Overall, definitely value for money esp. if u're only looking for a bed to sleep on (1/5 of the price paid for accommodation just opposite) but I wouldn't mind paying a few ringgit more if that's what it takes to get a cleaner toilet & shower :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Address: 62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.