We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Save Saved
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We traveled as a group for work, thus we did not spend a lot of time in Ryokan itself.

Pros: Cozy rooms are good for sharing with friends, WiFi, great showers (when there was water). Staff are friendly and did their best to accommodate our requests. Location is central.

Cons: During our three day/two night stay, there was a consistent water issue which was quite troubling. Breakfast was average. There are a lot of mosquitos in the common area, we hope the staff will take note of this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    146
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
35
97
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed two nights at this hostel upon my arrival in Malaysia. I was pleasantly surprised with its quality.

The room and bed were comfortable. Each bed had a shelf, light and powerpoint(s) on the wall for electronic devices.

The major negative were the bathrooms. You have to collect your toilet paper before entering the stall. You wouldn't want to forget! The showers were rain showers which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was simple but filling.

The hostel is built in a terrace house so my room, and presumably most, didn't have windows. Another thing to note is the hostel observes Japanese custom so you have to remove your shoes upon entry to the sleeping floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Passed by Ryokan Muntri the last time I was in Penang and it seemed pleasant and clean from the outside so decided to book a 4-bed dorm all to ourself for 1 night. You can't beat the location, it's on a quiet street yet just behind a busier Lebuh Chulia with all Georgetown attractions (murals and food) within walking distance. Checking in and out were smooth. The room itself is comfortable with blanket & towel provided (deposit of RM25 required) and aircond perfect for the hot hot weather, it even got a bit too cold for us that night. However, do note that the room may be a bit too small for some people especially for those not used to sharing space with strangers. Overall the whole place is clean but the toilets and showers are less than satisfactory for me - unpleasant stench coming from the toilet and cleanliness-wise for both spaces really could've been better. The water pressure at the sink was also low, but the next morning there was a sign saying there was some piping issue so it could've been due to that. Overall, definitely value for money esp. if u're only looking for a bed to sleep on (1/5 of the price paid for accommodation just opposite) but I wouldn't mind paying a few ringgit more if that's what it takes to get a cleaner toilet & shower :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everything was pretty good at Ryokan. Clean room, strong but quiet aircon (which is very important during hot days), clean and spacious toilets, SUPER STRONG showers (the best I have experienced), basic breakfast, central location and the street seems pretty safe. The only downside is the noise, which came out from the wooden floor when people walked past the corridor. During our stay there was construction going on next door, and they started hammering and drilling at around 8 o'clock when most people were probably still sleeping. The noise was too loud for us to continue sleeping. Other than that, it was a pretty nice stay there.

Room Tip: Our 4-bed dorm had a window but it's connected to the corridor, so we had almost no natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-City
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Actually i visit Penang and stay in this cozy hotel was 2 years ago. It was really memorable, and we re really appreciate for the totally service they give to us.

We re choose the mix dorm, so we re prepare to sleep in same room with any man. That was not really peak season of holiday, thats why we got 1 room for ladies only. Small room, with 4 beds. This hotel is easily to reach by walk from the main street. There were cozy place, good people who help us and give us some advise till the last day we stay. That really attractive paintings,greeting you when you arrive at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to ask more information if ur book the room on site. Can we get private room, only ladies, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in a 4-bed dorm for 2 nights. Initially, we had booked for 1 6-bed dorm but were granted a free upgrade to a 4-bed one with no extra charge (probably due to vacancies!). Just a note that the 4-bed dorm has no windows, so for fellow claustrophobic travelers like me myself, you might want to consider a 6-bed dorm with windows (which really helped to remind you of the time of the day with all that natural sunlight.. haha). The bathrooms were plentiful and water pressure was really comfortable for a warm and comforting bath.

Dorm bed was really comfortable and design was modern and classy. Air-con was well-functioning and there was enough walking space and 4 small cabinets to place your luggage in. Hostel staff was really nice and friendly. Breakfast was a typical fried eggs and 2 sausages, with unlimited coffee and toast (of course with your choice of butter, jam or kaya!). I would suggest you eat just a little to save some tummy space before you indulge in all that delicacies Penang offers.

Location wise, I quite like where Ryokan was located as it was quite accessible to everywhere we wanted to go although we had a car to travel around. The whole Georgetown is really walkable and there are 2 street arts nearby the hostel as well!

One downside was that the construction sounds were pretty disturbing as they start hammering early in the morning (like 7-8am ish, and weirdly enough, they stop hammering at around 11am when most of us would be away from the hostel...). It kinda served as a natural alarm clock but was honestly a little annoying. And for non-cat lovers like me, there was a cat who may give you a surprise attack by entering the dorm but the kind staff Edward actually helped me to chase the cat away and several times, I saw him shooing the cat away as it attempted to enter. Much thanks to him for that.

All in all, I really enjoyed the stay in Ryokan and we spent around RM248 for 2 nights, 4 people in a dorm. I was never expecting that kind of price for this kind of room so we were really glad with our stay at Ryokan.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room towards the end/away from the stairs because you can actually hear footsteps of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time coming to Penang. Had nothing to expect. The moment I got to the hotel, I knew I made the right choice staying there. Muntri street is like an old neighborhood block. There's a beautiful temple nearby, old buildings, murals, and still very close to the heart of George Town.
The place itself is clean and tidy and hip. Perfect for a solo trip or trip with friends. The staff are friendly and nice. The best part? Bike rentals and cable TV! Hahahaaha

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Address: 62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.