We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable hostel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Save Saved
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable hostel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at Ryokan for 3 nights while in Penang. My booking for a 6-bed dorm was upgraded to a 4-bed dorm because the hostel wasn't busy, which was nice. The location is great - right in the middle of the city, so the sights are within walking distance. The free breakfast is filling and a great bonus - eggs, sausage, toast and coffee / tea. Most importantly, the staff are very helpful with advice about things to do in the city as well as general travel plans. They dialled the numbers of hostels for the next city, so that I could make a reservation at my next destination.

The only downside (for some) might be the co-ed bathrooms, but this wasn't an issue for me as they are kept clean. Also, the property doesn't have a lift, but the receptionist carried my bag for me at check-in, so you only need to carry it down the stairs once when you leave :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    136
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
32
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

ideally located in the centre of george town. japanese style chic hostel with very friendly and accomodating staff. definately will stay here again if I am in Penang again. locacted just off Love Lane. great for the night food stalls, try the penang assam laksa and the curry mee.
i found the rooms spotless, they serve a fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for your own room. its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed there alone in the 6-bed mixed dorm for 2 nights. A new concept B&B with great facilities and friendly staffs. Comfy bed. Clean environment too. Love the rain shower with hot/cold function. Nice American breakfast. Feels good to just chill indoor at Ryokun Penang. But something should be done to the wooden floor on floor above..some guests tend to just stomp their feet on it causing noises. Overall, Ryokun Penang is highly recommended for budget travellers who are still looking for a nice place to sleep in at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights with one of my backpack friend and we LOVE it. Both of us are girls but we wanted to keep it a low budget trip, so we picked the 6 bed-dorm. Everything were very new, and compare to many hostel in Malaysia, this is considered very very nice. I like their service, and the hostel is very safe(Because they kinda have a curfew that they're locking the door at night), plus the location is great. I also met someone very special there at my dorm (thanks Ryokan! We talked all night at the lounge area). I also like their shower area, but it gets busy in the morning so be there very early(or very late) to avoid waiting for the bathroom queue. Also, sometimes the air-con might be a lil too cold for me. But I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights, and enjoyed the stay. I was totally alone in the dorm.
Staffs are friendly and helpful. Communal bathrooms and toilets are clean and sufficient.
The design of the hostel is definitely chic and modern but at the same time retain the charm from the past glory. Like the wooden floor, however, there's a crack in my dorm room.
The hostel is also strategically located in the heart of the city, walking distance to a lot of places, enough eateries nearby too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I called Ryokan the night before we arrived and was offered a deal to book out a 4 bed dorm privately for my sister and I. We took the deal and were happy with our decision to stay at Ryokan. The staff are friendly, the hostel is clean and well designed and the internet worked pretty well. The blankets provided were unfortunately far too short for us and the breakfast was really nothing spectacular, but it was a great location and it was adequate for the price we paid. It's also great that they have individual lights and plugs for each bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I didn't expect anything when I first made my booking with Ryokan. RM35 includes breakfast (egg, hotdog, and unlimited bread and coffee/tea), towel, and blanket. Most importantly, the environment is clean and spacious!! Much better than the hostels in Singapore which I stayed that cost S$26~35. The only cons will be the wooden floor which makes squeaky noise when someone runs or walks with heavy steps in the midnight. Overall, this is the place for any backpackers who are looking for a comfort place to stay and not breaking your bank!!

Room Tip: rooms upstairs near the bathroom are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/Georgetown
Address: 62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.