We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Save Saved
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in a six bed "loft-style" room for two nights. The staffs of this hostel are really friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask them any question. :) Pretty enjoyed the facilities as well, especially the large and comfortable bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    142
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
33
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in a private room which had cable TV airconditioning and was clean. The bed was comfortable and large. I slept well. The staff were particularily helpful with bus information and eating suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ryokan is a stylish and clean hostel with a number of dorm rooms (and a few private rooms). Many of the rooms are quite small and the bunk beds are crammed into them with pretty much no extra space. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room the first night and in the 6 bed "loft" the second night (the "loft" was more spacious). The location is excellent and is close to great restaurants, the historical sights, shopping centers, and the local bus station.

During my stay I was the only caucasian "backpacker" in the place. Everyone else was either Chinese, Japanese, or Malaysian. I mention this because it gave the hostel a different sort of atmosphere than other hostels who have more of an international backpacker clientele. Most of the other guests were groups of young Chinese people and they didn't seem interested in talking to me.

Noise wise, I moved to Ryokan from another hostel because the other place had lots of traffic noise which was keeping me awake. Ryokan had zero traffic noise, but plenty of noise from the other guests. I don't know if it is a Chinese thing, but nobody seemed to care that people were trying to sleep. They would talk very loudly at all hours (even 3am), run (yes run) down the hallway, and generally seemed intent on making as much noise as humanly possible. This has been pointed out in other reviews, and was an issue both nights I stayed here.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the shared bathrooms seem to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 3nights in Ryonkan in Penang. Staff is very friendly and helped me a lot , rooms are clean and simple,We got fresh towels and blankets. Can definitely recommend this hostel!
You must have a padlock to lock your locker.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Everything was good. The only set back is when there is a group or young people staying in the place, where they tend to be ignorance of the other ppl staying there as well. As a prewar building the flooring is usually made from planks and the wall of the building is thin. Common sense is you have to walk very gently and not like an elephant. Talking has to be toned down too. All these are usually the practice when one staying in places like dorms. My stayed was spoilt due to the check in of a group of youngsters. They were running in the dorms, walking heavily, shouting from 1 end to another end. My brother staying in the luxury room downstairs was also bothered with the sound of the planks. Apart from this, the cleanliness is very good. Toilets were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here last year right on New Year's Eve with 4 of my friends. We had previously booked out a 4-bed dorm, but we had a late joiner to the group. When we asked if it was possible to add an extra mattress, we were prepared to be told "no" (since it's a busy hoilday), but they surprised us and somehow made it work!

The location is quite good if you are interested in historical and cultural sites, and the room and showers were stylish in a minimal way, and very clean. The only thing was the wooden floor of the hallway -- other people staying at the time didn't seem to understand that you don't stomp the ground when you walk (it's not cement!) and they were a little loud going back and forth from their rooms. But that's not something the hostel staff can control...

The place itself is really good, the staff were friendly and accomodating, and I would definitely go back if I return to Penang!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed a weekend in Ryonkan in Penang with some friends. Staff is very friendly and helped us a lot with planning our sightseeing tour, rooms are clean and simple, the hot rain shower is awesome! We got fresh towels and blankets. Can definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Address: 62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.